Defunct WWE Titles Pt. 2

Pedro Morales

Craig Wilson

Last time, in part one of Defunct WWE titles, we looked at the history of the WWF International Heavyweight Championship, the Junior Heavyweight Title, Canadian Championship, North American Heavyweight Championship and Women’s Tag Team Championship.

In this piece, Craig will take in another now defunct titles from WWE history.

WWWF United States Tag Team Championship

The WWWF United States Tag Team Championship was a major tag team title in the World Wide Wrestling Federation from 1963 until 1967. Originally, the WWF was a member of the National Wrestling Alliance operating out of the Northeast and was called the Capitol Wrestling Corporation. The championship began as Capitol Wrestling’s territorial version of the NWA United States Tag Team Championship from 1958 until 1963. The final holders of the gold were Bruno Sammartino and Spiros Arion.

WWWF United States Championship

During the lifetime of this title it was used as the WWWF’s secondary belt, before it was replaced by the North American Heavyweight Championship then the one we are most accustomed to: the Intercontinental Title.

The WWWF US Title sporadically in the World Wide Wrestling Federation between 1963 and 1976 and has no connection to the current WWE United States Championship, the lineage of which dates back to the NWA/WCW United States Heavyweight Championship originally created in 1975 in Mid-Atlantic Championship Wrestling.

Bobo Brazil is recognised as the inaugural winner of the title and he was also the man that held the gold when it was abandoned by the WWF in March 1976. A total of five superstars at one time carried the strap. Bobo Brazil – with a combined 4,072 days as champion over 7 reigns, The Sheik – 450 days over 2 reigns, Johnny Barend – 72 days over 2 reigns, Ray Stevens with one reign that lasted 67 days and Pedro Morales again with one reign but this time for a total of just 32 days.

WWF World Martial Arts Heavyweight Championship

The World Martial Arts Heavyweight Championship was a title in the WWF and later in New Japan Pro Wrestling (NJPW). It was created in December 1978 and awarded to Antonio Inoki by Vincent J. McMahon on Inoki’s arrival in the WWF. The title was contested in shoot wrestling fights before being contested only in NJPW after the promotion became unaffiliated with the WWF in 1985. Inoki held the title for 3780 days before he dropped it to Shota Chochishvili in April 1989 but won it back the following month.

WWF Intercontinental Tag Team Championship

The WWF Intercontinental Tag Team Championship has to be one of the most short-lived championships in World Wrestling Federation history, not even lasting an entire calendar year. On 7 January 1991, due to the WWF’s then relationship with UWF Japan, the titles were awarded to Perro Aguayo and Gran Hamada , as a subordinate title to the WWF tag titles, but were abandoned later the same year when the WWF severed ties with the Japanese promotion.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.