WWE Fastlane 2015 Predictions

Fastlane 2015Jamie Lithgow, Brian Damage and Craig Wilson

The last stop before Wrestlemania and this year it won’t feature numerous guys being shoe-horned into an elimination chamber match. The headline this year features Roman Reigns and Daniel Bryan battling out for the main event spot at Wrestlemania opposite Brock Lesnar. Elsewhere, we have an undercard featuring Rusev battle John Cena, Wade Barrett going up against Dean Ambrose, The Usos versus Tyson Kidd and Cesaro and more. Today on the blog Jamie, Brian and Craig share their thoughts and predictions on the show.

Divas Title match: Nikki Bella vs. Paige

Jamie: Hell has frozen over, I’m actually into a match featuring a Bella twin. Forget the ‘Total Divas’ nonsense, Paige really wants the Divas Title – and I really want her to have it – while Nikki really wants to keep it. Booking so simple and logical that I may not fast forward past this Divas match for a change…

Winner: Nikki Bella

Brian: Paige should win the title here…but somehow I see Nikki staying the champ going into Wrestlemania 31.

Winner: Nikki Bella

Craig: Like most divas matches you could toss a coin to pick the winner. There’s very little storyline here and even less interest from me.

Winner: Nikki Bella

Tag Title match: The Usos vs. Tyson Kidd & Cesaro

Jamie: A good match this will likely be, but I don’t buy Kidd and Cesaro as genuine contenders. This match exists to further the friction between Tyson and Natalya.

Winners: The Usos

Brian: My heart wants to see Cesaro and Kidd win the titles…but my brain is telling me otherwise. Cesaro and Kidd have had too much of the upper hand in this feud thus far….so it is only logical that the Usos retain the belts.

Winners: The Usos

Craig: If these four are given 15 minutes, this could be a stellar encounter. Like Brian, I’d like to see Cesaro and Kidd get the gold but I just can’t look beyond The Usos retaining.

Winners; The Usos

Intercontinental Title match: Bad News Barrett vs. Dean Ambrose

Jamie: Another challenger actually interested in a mid-card title? I like the build to this match, simple wrestling logic. However, I can’t help but look beyond this match – and others on this card – and think about what happens next. Hmmm….

Winner, and new Intercontinental Champion: Dean Ambrose

Brian: Wade Barrett has been booked really weak as of late…ie poorly. He has lost to Sin Cara, Ambrose and R Truth leading up to this title match. Dean Ambrose is gaining in popularity so I see a title switch here.

Winner: Dean Ambrose (New IC Champ)

Craig: This is likely to be a wild brawl and I can’t wait for it. Barrett has been a good IC Champ but I think Ambrose is deserving of a run with the gold and it should, although probably won’t, add more prestige to the title.

Winner, and new IC Champion: Dean Ambrose.

Seth Rollins, Big Show, and Kane vs. Erick Rowan, Ryback, and Dolph Ziggler

Jamie: I’d happily take another Rollins/Ziggler singles match over this. Big Show and Kane are just awful. I can make my peace with just not watching matches they are involved in, but not when they also feature guys I want to see.

Winners: The Authority

Brian: I see a heel turn here by either Dolph Ziggler or Rowan…or some outside interference that will lead to the Authority’s victory.

Winners: The Authority

Craig: On one team the guy the WWE are promoting to the hilt and two 15 year veterans against 3 guys that will be lucky to have a non-battle royal appearance at Mania? I think the best that Team Ziggler can hope for is a Randy Orton inspired win. What is more likely is the Authority winning.

U.S. Title match: Rusev vs. John Cena

Jamie: So far I like this feud, and I like how John Cena has not ignored or over-looked the US Title. Like the other challengers on this show, he wants to be a Champion too. I reckon these two will collide at Wrestlemania, so this will likely have an inconclusive result. I just hope Rusev comes out looking strong, otherwise what’s the point?

Winner: Rusev, by DQ

Brian: Rusev got his butt handed to him on Monday Night by Cena…I see Rusev retaining the US title by Dq or countout.

Winner: Rusev

Craig: I certainly am not predicting a clean finish in this one! It should be good though and I’m looking forward to seeing how this goes. Rusev is going from strength to strength at the moment and appears to have benefited from a programme with Cena in the way we hoped Wyatt would, but didn’t.

Winner: Rusev will leave as still US Champion, likely via a Cena DQ win.

Triple H and Sting face-to-face confrontation

Jamie: I’m honestly not that interested

Brian: I have no idea what will happen here other than a match to be set up for Wrestlemania…it should be pretty cool.

Craig: I think we all know that it’ll be Trips v Sting at ‘mania, I don’t envisage anything else coming from this segment. Wonder if Sting will even speak?

Roman Reigns vs. Daniel Bryan – winner advances to challenge Brock Lesnar for the WWE World Title at WrestleMania 31

Jamie: To pull the rug out from under Reigns’ feet would be really shit, as would teasing us with the possibility of Daniel Bryan in the main event of Wrestlemania, only to take it away. Conclusion? An inconclusive finish. Sounds like a rip-off, but remember this show is either free or already paid for. Any one of Rollins, Kane, Big Show, J&J, Triple H or even Brock Lesnar could get involved.

Winner: Nobody

Brian: While A David vs Goliath storyline between Lesnar and Daniel Bryan would be money…I just don’t see Vince doing the underdog story two years in a row. They have a lot invested in Roman Reigns.

Winner: Roman Reigns

Craig: I’m with Jamie, that would really be kicking the legs out from under Reigns and would involve a remarkable amount of work to get him back to a credible upper midcarder on the cusp of the main event. I think the WWE will continue to hedge their bets and we’ll leave tonight with a triple threat still a possibility.

Winner: Neither man.

Overall:

Jamie: A main event with something significant on the line and an under card with matches worth watching, for a change. Fastlane is very much a pitstop rather than a destination, but should be well worth a look…. especially as it’s free!

Brian: This is the final stop before Wrestlemania and the first time that this pay per view is airing. I expect some big things to happen to create a buzz for Mania.

Craig: I have reasonably high expectations here. There are a few matches on here that I’m actually excited about.

2 thoughts on “WWE Fastlane 2015 Predictions

  1. Pingback: Daniel Bryan vs. Roman Reigns: Winner and Reaction from 2015 WWE Fastlane | Harold S Bear

Leave a Reply

