WWE Payback 2015 Predictions

WWE-Payback-2015

Jamie Lithgow, Brian Damage and Craig Wilson

Tonight on the WWE Network and on pay-per-view, if anyone still buys WWE events, it’s time for Payback. This year’s event is headlined by a fatal fourway  main event pitting WWE Champion Seth Rollins against both his former Shield comrades Roman Reigns and Dean Ambrose with Randy Orton also in the mix. Elsewhere, Sheamus takes on Dean Ambrose, New Day defend the tag gold against the team they won them from Kidd & Cesaro, King Bartlett faces his countryman Neville, Tamina Snuka returns to our screens to team with Naomi to take on The Bellas and John Cena faces Rusev. In this post Jamie, Brian and Craig share their thoughts and predictions.

Pre-show: Curtis Axel & Macho Mandow vs. The Ascension

Jamie: I really hope The Ascension play up to the role of Demolition or The Road Warriors. This should be a fun, one-off encounter. The problem is, where do these four guys go from here? I fear WWE will rip the arse out of something that is only really funny the first time you see it.

Winners: the Mega Powers, sorry, Axelmania and Macho Mandow

Brian: Don’t get me wrong, I am happy that Curtis Axel and Damian Sandow are getting TV time…I just think this whole “Mega Powers-Lite” gimmick doesn’t have longevity. It’s obvious the Ascension are nothing but jokes now..which is a shame.

Winners: Axelmania and Macho Mandow

Craig: The Mega Powers shtick is pretty fun and entertaining which the WWE will go with for a few months and here they face a team that the company have already given up on. There’s only one winner here.

Winners: Axelmania and Macho Mandow

Ryback vs. Bray Wyatt

Jamie: Wyatt really needs the win, but there seems to be mileage in this feud beyond just one match

Winner: Ryback, after Wyatt gets himself DQ’d

Brian: I’ll give credit where credit is due…Ryback is working hard to improve. Bray Wyatt is just leaps and bounds ahead of Ryback personality wise. I look for a reunion of the Wyatt Family here.

Winner: Ryback by DQ

Craig: Two guys that are perfectly good in the ring facing each other after a decent build-up, yet I’m still not feeling this one at all. It’ll be OK, nothing more than that. Interference win for Wyatt I predict.

Winner: Wyatt

Bad News Barrett vs. Neville in Match #3 of their recent 1-1 series

Jamie: Love this. I imagine a series of matches like this must be hard to book when both men are being pushed, so need to look strong in victory and defeat. babyfaces should always play catchup…

Winner: King Barrett

Brian: Neville is a tremendous talent and the WWE has been doing a good job of protecting him even when he loses he looks strong. The person who needs this victory more right now though is Barrett. They chose him to be King of the Ring, so it’s time that he be pushed.

Winner: All hail King Barrett!

Craig: I’d be more excited about this one had we not seen it so many times already. This is the rubber match, after Neville’s win at Extreme Rules and Barrett toppling him at King of the Ring. I actually think Neville might take this one which really says a lot about the point of King of the Ring…

Winner: Neville

Dolph Ziggler vs. Sheamus in an Extreme Rules re-match

Jamie: Wasn’t Extreme Rules last month? I’m not really into this feud, although I have every faith that this could be a really good match. Ziggler won last time, so…

Winner: Sheamus

Brian: I may be in the minority, but I am really enjoying the newly repackaged Sheamus. He is so much more entertaining as a heel. I think Sheamus will win…but Dolph gets his revenge and makes Sheamus finally kiss his arse.

Winner: Sheamus

Craig: A re-match, that’s what this card really needs… I’m with Brian, I quite dig the newly repackaged Sheamus and he is more suited to a heel role. Sheamus needs the win here.

Winner: Sheamus

Nikki Bella and Brie Bella v Naomi and Tamina Snuka

Jamie: Don’t care.

Winner: Certainly not the fans

Brian: I’m glad that Tamina is being used again…that’s about all I’ll say.

Winners: Naomi and Tamina

Craig: Quite the lack of interest in this match, huh? And no wonder, really. It is good to see Tamina back and she could be an important part of the divas division – they really should change that name – if the WWE wanted her to be or wanted to have a strong division. I don’t believe they have either.

Winners: Naomi & Tamina

Tag Title match: New Day vs. Tyson Kidd & Cesaro in a 2/3 Falls match

Jamie: Loving New Day since they turned, and I loved their match at Extreme Rules. I’m looking forward to this more than any other match on the card. With the third man at ringside, I feel sure New Day will escape with the titles after some cheating.

Winners: The New Day

Brian: As much as I love Tyson Kidd and Cesaro….New Day have really caught on as heels. I don’t see them losing here.

Winners: New Day

Craig: What a change in fortune that New Day have had. They’ve gone from no one really caring about them to being tag team champions. I’m now looking forward to this one and it should be a cracking tag team match if they’re given a decent enough amount of time to perform. Struggling to look beyond New Day retaining the gold here, though.

Winners: New Day

U.S. Title match: John Cena vs. Rusev IV in an I Quit match

Jamie: Putting aside the fact that John Cena has never, and will never, quit, and the fact that he has defeated Rusev twice on the spin; this US Open Challenge surely exists so that someone – perhaps from NXT – can go over huge by upsetting Cena at some point in the future, no? My only doubt is that a Cena win is so depressingly obvious.

Winner: John Cena

Brian: It should be good. I don’t see Rusev quitting…but it’ll be Lana who quits for him and it’ll eventually set up the split between the couple.

Winner: John Cena

Craig: I think Brian’s prediction is what’s going to happen tonight so no point really trying to reinvent the wheel here.

Winner: John Cena

WWE World Title match: Seth Rollins vs. Roman Reigns vs. Randy Orton vs. Dean Ambrose in a Fatal Four-way match

Jamie: Is it just me, or is the title secondary to this tedious feud between Rollins and Kane? Rollins has been booked so weakly since becoming champion that the only way he can be taken seriously is by holding onto it for a decent amount of time. What would be the point of him holding the belt for 6 weeks and never once looking like a champion? Clinging onto the thing for 6 months on the other hand…

Also, the addition of Ambrose screams ‘fall guy’ to me…

Winner: Seth Rollins

Brian: Seth Rollins will retain but it’ll be by some sort of screwjob finish. Someone will turn heel and join the Authority. Dean Ambrose? Roman Reigns? Either way…Rollins retains.

Winner: Seth Rollins

Craig: My excitement at seeing Dean Ambrose back in the main event is tempered by the fact he’s clearly going to be the fall guy here. I can’t actually see any way that Rollins won’t leave here as the champion. I’d expect some tomfoolery along the way, probably, and predictably, involving Kane.

Overall:

Jamie: I’m more interested in the undercard than the main event to be honest. Really looking forward to the tag match and Neville v Barret should be good too. The rest, I can take or leave.

Brian: My expectations are still pretty low for this card..but if done right..could be a solid show.

Craig: Solid enough card but nothing that we’ve not seen before. Bar the tag match and Barrett/Neville, like Jamie, and the main event I can take or leave the rest really.

Leave a Reply

