WWE Money in the Bank 2015 Predictions

MoneyintheBand2015poster

Jamie Lithgow, Brian Damage & Russ Morgan

It’s time for that annual PPV that allows – or is it forces -a superstar to carry a battered case around on TV for the next 12 months. Roman Reigns, Randy Orton, Dolph Ziggler, Kofi Kingston, Neville, Sheamus, and Kane are all battling for that honour. Elsewhere, John Cena battles Kevin Owens for the second time, Dean Ambrose challenges Seth Rollins for the WWE title and more. Here are our thoughts and predictions for the show.

Pre-show: King Barrett vs. R-Truth

Jamie: The main card seems a bit light to allow for a pre-show match… Anyway, this should be a fun match. R-Truth is very funny as, well, an idiot and Wade Barrett’s schtick since becoming King Barrett has also been good value. Surely The King reigns supreme here…

Winner: King Barrett

Brian: R-Truth has been really entertaining as of late….on the flip side…ever since Barrett won King of the Ring…he’s been like stale bread. Barrett needs to not only win this match, but do it in a fashion where he looks really strong.

Winner: King Barrett

Russ: Should be a decent match, I’m a fan of Barrett, but he needs to win a match convincingly to move onto the next level.

Winner: King Barrett

IC Title match: Ryback vs. Big Show

Jamie: There is zero chance of Big Show winning the IC Title here. I can only hope – although I’m not holding my breath – that Ryback beats Show decisively so that he can move on to a more interesting feud. The Big Guy deserves an opponent he can get his teeth into……. see what I did there?!

Winner: Ryback

Brian: I may be the only one who is not a Ryback fan. While I appreciate his moxy…he is too limited in my view as a wrestler to put on a solid match…especially with another slow, lumbering man in the Big Show.

Winner: Ryback

Russ: Dear oh dear. Not going to be a classic. This should be the pre-show or better yet, not on the show at all!

Winner: Ryback

Divas Title match: Nikki Bella vs. Paige

Jamie: The Divas division needs a change. While a Paige win would be a step in the right direction, it’s hardly a ‘change’. My hope is that there is more to Paige’s recent promos than meets the eye. I’m praying that she has back-up in the form of some NXT ladies. That would really ignite my interest in the Divas division. Again though, I’m not holding my breath…

Winner, and new Divas Champion: Paige

Brian: I am holding out hope that Paige’s promo last week on Smackdown truly meant something. The Divas division needs a serious overhaul and it can start with getting rid of the stupid name…’Diva’ for a female wrestler. I think Paige wins the title here…

Winner: Paige

Russ: Quick tea break here.

Winner: Paige

Tag Team Title Match: The New Day vs. The Prime Time Players

Jamie: Loving the mini revival within the tag ranks, although Tyson Kidd’s injury is really bad timing. Much as I love Titus and Darren and believe they should be used more frequently and prominently, The New Day are hot right now. They should keep the belts.

Winners: The New Day

Brian: The New Day are clicking right now and while the Prime time Players are connecting with the audience…I just don’t see New Day losing just yet.

Winners: New Day

U.S. champion John Cena vs. NXT champion Kevin Owens II non-title match

Jamie: Tough call. John Cena would really benefit from a guy that ‘has his number’, just as The Undertaker did when Mankind entered WWE in 1996. I feel that if Cena goes over clean then Owens’ victory at Elimination Chamber might be played off as a fluke, and thus have been pointless. Whoever wins, I don’t think it will be clean. Owens’ clean win needs still count for something, but I don’t see Cena losing two straight matches to someone that’s not Brock Lesnar.

Winner, by DQ or something: John Cena

Brian: The short answer is Kevin Owens should win again. The long answer is I just don’t see Cena losing two in a row to somebody just off the NXT roster (No matter who that is.)

Winner: John Cena

Russ: John Cena by clean pin, set up for a proper title match.

Winner: John Cena

MITB Ladder match for future WWE World Title shot: Roman Reigns, Randy Orton, Dolph Ziggler, WWE tag champion Kofi Kingston, Neville, Sheamus, and Kane

Jamie: It’s going to be Orton or Reigns, which is a shame because both of these guys are fairly high up the WWE Title ladder anyway. Will Randy Orton receive a WWE Title match at some point in the next year? Probably. Reigns? Probably. Dolph Ziggler? Maybe not. Sheamus? Maybe not. Ziggler with a second stint as ‘Mr Money in The Bank’ would be brilliant, but I’m going to gamble on Sheamus as the dark horse. Orton and Reigns are surely too obvious…

Winner: Sheamus

Brian: Everybody’s “money” is on Roman Reigns winning the briefcase. I am going to go out of the box and say Kane wins his second briefcase and slowly becomes the Monster Kane again (Mask and all) to feud with Seth Rollins.

Winner: Kane

Russ: I generally get excited by these matches. History suggests that this is a contender for match of the year. Of all the contenders, Orton being the highest on the list should win. Reigns would be 2nd favourite, but of all the contenders I want to see Sheamus claim the case. My outsider for it would be Kane, but I don’t think it will happen.

Winner: Sheamus

WWE Title match: Seth Rollins vs. Dean Ambrose in a ladder match

Jamie: Just when we thought he was down and out, Rollins pulls it out of the bag! Ambrose has had the upper hand the last few weeks, so Rollins is due to win a battle within this war. Summerslam is on the horizon, so I’m thinking Mr Lesnar might want a proper rematch for the title he lost. Lesnar v Ambrose? No. Lesnar v Rollins? Yes.

Winner: Seth Rollins

Brian: I don’t think there is any conceivable way Ambrose wins this match. Seth Rollins legitimately wants to be a strong champion and I think he gets a convincing win on his own here.

Winner: Seth Rollins

Russ: I’m looking forward to this. Ambrose slowly simmering to the boil, problem is that I can’t see Rollins dropping the title. This feud still has a long way to go and Ambrose will be champion at some point, just don’t think it will be Sunday.

Winner: Seth Rollins

Overall:

Jamie: Solid show. I can’t say I’m that excited about it, but – unlike a lot of WWE PPV’s – I do have an interest in the outcome of each match. There’s not too much I’ll be fast-forwarding on Monday… hopefully.

Brian: The MitB ladder match and the World title ladder match should be fun…everything else is a little suspect. I am hoping for a twist or two from the evening…but who knows.

Russ: Money in the bank and title match are the only things of note. The rest of the card is hit and miss for me.

Leave a Reply

