WWE SummerSlam 2015 Predictions

SummerSlam 2015

Craig Wilson, Jamie Lithgow & Brian Damage

Tonight is the hottest WWE ticket of the summer as SummerSlam hits our screens. A packed card was required to fill the four hours and the WWE look to have delivered with Seth Rollins taking on John Cena, Brock Lesnar battling the Undertaker and much much more. Today, the team share their thoughts and predictions on SummerSlam 2015

Bray Wyatt & Luke Harper vs. Dean Ambrose & Roman Reigns

Craig: I wonder if this match will open the show. Think it will be this or Cesaro vs. Owens. Both matches are more than capable of getting SummerSlam off with a bang. As for this one, it’ll be hard hitting, there’ll be some near stupid bumps and I think the former Shield members will come out on top.

Winners: Dean Ambrose & Roman Reigns

Jamie: The Shield vs. The Wyatt Family; yes please! This; no thanks. It’s like all four men have nothing better to do with themselves than fight each other… again. Why are they fighting anyway? Lazy booking and the match will either be really good, or really boring.

Winners: Ambrose & Reigns

Brian: This match has potential….especially if they add a new twist to it. Perhaps a new member will join the Wyatt Family…Rowan perhaps? Or is he still injured? Either way, I feel somebody will be joining the Wyatts….maybe Dean Ambrose.

Winners: Bray Wyatt and Luke Harper

Three Team Elimination Match
Team Bella (The Bellas & Alicia Fox) vs. Team B.A.D. (Naomi, Sasha Banks & Tamina) vs. PCB (Paige, Charlotte & Becky Lynch)

Craig: My abiding hope for this one is that they get enough time to work this and not just 30 seconds each. If they do get plenty of time then it’ll give the performers a chance to show what they can do and why the deserve more exposure. If this is given around five minutes it shows that the WWE’s “revolution” for the division is nothing more than warm words. What’s that? You want a winner?

Winners: Team PCB as they are the three that deserve it.

Jamie: Excellent choice of match by WWE here, my only worry is that it might be allocated a pathetic amount of time. There are 9 ladies here, WWE can’t just limit them to 10 minutes. Hopefully they realise that a New York crowd will want to see the Divas given as much time as possible to have a good match.

Winners: PCB

Brian: This can be really good or really rushed depending how the WWE plays it. My guess it’ll be somewhere in between.

Winners: The Submission Sorority errrr I mean Team PCB

Dolph Ziggler vs. Rusev

Craig: I’d almost forgotten that Ziggler was out injured. Guess I’ve already written off 2015 being Ziggler’s year to shine. Still plenty of this year left to get me optimistic enough to think 2016 will be his year. Anyway, I digress, even though that’s Ziggler back from injury and after revenge, I can’t see past a Rusev win here. I also would be staggered if there wasn’t some nonsense involving Lana and Summer Rae which will add absolutely nothing to the match and very little to the storyline…

Winner: Rusev

Jamie: Ziggler disappearing half way through this feud has killed it for me. The babyface returning to seek revenge works if he’s A out for longer than a few weeks and B the heel has continued to look strong. Still, Ziggler is really over and the inevitable Lana/Summer catfight will pop the crowd.

Winner: Ziggler

Brian: There is nothing I find remotely intriguing about this match up and this is coming from a Dolph Ziggler fan. The entire storyline was mundane and made Rusev look like a weak, pandering mush.

Winner: Dolph Ziggler

Triple Threat Match for the Intercontinental Championship
Ryback (c) vs. Big Show vs. The Miz

Craig: This is probably the weakest match of the night for me. The Miz has been there or thereabouts when it comes to the IC title for years now and fans don’t buy him as champion while Big Show has suffered badly from over exposure, again, for years now. I can’t look beyond Ryback retaining.

Winner: and still IC Champion Ryback

Jamie: No thanks, not even remotely interested.

Winner: Ryback, probably

Brian: Not a fan of any of these guys…especially Big Slow and Ryback. At the very least, Miz plays a great heel. I guess this is a bathroom break match for me.

Winner: Ryback

Fatal Four-way tag team match for the WWE Tag Team Championship
The Prime Time Players (c) vs. Los Matadores vs. The Lucha Dragos vs. The New Day

Craig: This will be a fast paced, action packed encounter. Only Los Matadores aren’t really deserving of being there so I’d be staggered if it wasn’t them that took the fall. Maybe that’s New Day beating them to win the gold and setting up PTP vs New Day feud with PTP claiming they never really lost the gold. That’s certainly the route I’d be happy for the WWE to take. That or Darren Young and Titus O’Neil retaining, anyway but I think New Day will leave with the gold.

Winners: and new tag team champions The New Day

Jamie: Pre-show anyone? I know it’s a four hour show, but I bet this still lands on the pre-show. Should be a good match too, and hard to pick a winner.

Winners, and new WWE Tag Team Champions: The New Day

Brian: Could be really good…but since this is a pre show match…probably be rushed. The New Day right now are too damn entertaining not to win the titles here.

Winners: New Day

Kevin Owens vs Cesaro

Craig: This for me will be the best match of the night. I hope that the instructions they get from creative are something like “You’ve got 15 minutes, here’s who wins, go out there and entertain” and they’ll do it. There’s also plenty more gas left in this programme – I’d like to see it being about the IC title further down the line. As for a winner, it’s tricky. Cesaro really could do with it but I can’t see Owens losing two nights on the bounce so it’s Owens for me, probably not a clean win.

Winners: Owens by hook or crook.

Jamie: WWE were obligated to book this match. Both these guys continually seem to lose in excellent matches. One thing should be different this time though, one of them will win! Unless it goes to a no contest…

Winner: Kevin Owens

Brian: This by all accounts will be the show stealer of the night. Cesaro and Owens are capable of giving a five star match and I truly expect nothing less in this contest.

Winner: Cesaro

Stephen Amell & Neville vs. Stardust & King Barrett

Craig: This’ll be short. Neville will do much of the work, Amell will do a spot and the pair will rejoice in victory as we shake our collective heads at the plight of King Barrett and the shear waste of Stardust.

Winners: Team Red & Green Arrow.

Jamie: Keep it short, keep it fun and let everyone hit their high spots. Do that and I see no reason why this can’t be an enjoyable match. I’m betting that this Stephen Amell guy has something other than a famous name to offer in this match, otherwise he wouldn’t be booked. We’re not in the days of Dennis Rodman and Jay Leno any more.

Winners: Stephen Amell & Neville

Brian: I truly do not care…

Winners: Amell and Neville

Brock Lesnar (w/ Paul Heyman) vs. The Undertaker

Craig: If this can come close to matching the build-up then we’ll have a very good battle on our hands. Hopefully Taker doesn’t get an early injury so that this can be much better than their WrestleMania XXX encounter. Think this is part 2 of 3 and we have a retirement match on our hands at WrestleMania 32.

Winner: The Undertaker

Jamie: Honestly? I’m not bothered. What are the ramifications if Lesnar wins? What are the ramifications if Taker wins? It’s a big fat ‘don’t know and don’t care’ on both counts from me. This leads me to believe that something will happen within the match to make the outcome more significant. Heyman wouldn’t possibly turn on Lesnar would he… surely not in New York City?

Winner, by shady means: The Undertaker

Brian: If their Wrestlemania 30 match was any indication, this rematch shouldn’t be much better. With that said though, I Undertaker is a pure professional. Why does the dead man seem like the bitter heel to me.

Winner: Brock Lesnar

WWE World Heavyweight Championship and WWE United States Championship Match
Seth Rollins (c) vs. John Cena (c)

Craig: There are so so many options here. I’d be bummed if intereference caused this to not have an ending like Battleground so I *think* we can rule that out. Cena winning them both I guess would destroy the internet – well half of it – while Rollins would certainly draw even more heat if he held both titles. I think having both belts on one man would be a waste – particularly how good the US Open Challenge has been and how good Cena has been in that role. A non-clean finish would also suck, but not as much as a non-finish. So, I’m predicting that Rollins is DQ-ed.

Winner: John Cena via DQ

Jamie: I do care about this match, and it should be a corker. My thoughts are that the New York fans will obviously be all over Cena, but I think the heat he would receive if he equalled Flair’s record would be too much. WWE can’t dress that up as ‘dividing opinion’, that would be nuclear heel heat… wasted on a babyface. He also just came out with his new ‘15x’ merch range, which is a big chunk of the John Cena empire and not to be ignored. Triple H will make sure Cena does not become WWE Champion, but I can’t see Rollins taking the US Title either. No way this match goes on last.

Winner, by DQ: John Cena

Brian: I’d be lying if I said I don’t care about this match up. The thought of Cena becoming a 16 time WWE champion will get me rooting hard for Seth Rollins to win. I just don’t see Rollins winning and becoming US Champion to boot. Sadly, I can see Cena doing that…but I think there will be some type of outside interference in this and Seth will lose by DQ.

Winner: John Cena via disqualification

Overall:

Craig: As I said last weekend, I am looking forward to SummerSlam. On paper it’s a pretty solid card although I’ve a few grumbles here and there – too many teams in the tag title match and there’s gotta be someone more deserving of an IC title shot than Big Show and The Miz. That said, I quite like much of the rest. Cesaro vs Owens is bound to be the match of the night and the card is loaded with big names. I’ll certainly be staying up to watch how this one unfolds.

Jamie: Looks like a good card to me, with potential for some really good matches. Still a few dead spots though. My piss break will be moved from its traditional home of the Divas match to the IC Title match instead. The good thing is that almost every match is a tough call – apart from the comic book match. I may not be excited about Summerslam, but I am intrigued.

Brian: I am really not enthralled with the entire card. It should be good, but then again it may be average. The New York crowd to me…will really make or break this event.

Leave a Reply

