WWE Night of Champions 2015 Predictions

Night_of_Champions_2015

Jamie Lithgow & Craig Wilson

Tonight it’s Night of Champions when the WWE freshen it up by, like every other PPV, having every title on the line… The show might be headlined by Sting challenging Seth Rollins for the WWE title but there’s plenty else there including John Cena facing Rollins for the US title, Kevin Owens facing Ryback for the IC, Nikki Bella defending the Divas title against Charlotte, tag champions The New Day facing The Dudley Boys and much much more.

Preview Show Match
Neville and The Lucha Dragons (Kalisto and Sin Cara) vs. The Cosmic Wasteland (Stardust and The Ascension) (Konnor and Viktor)

Jamie: The comic book stuff isn’t my cup of tea, but I get why WWE are going down that avenue. What is my cup of tea, however, is the potential this match has. I’m actually glad it’s only on the pre-show, because it will get more time there than it would on the main show. The Lucha Dragons and The Ascension had some very good matches in NXT, and adding Neville and Stardust just sweetens the deal.

Winners: Neville and The Lucha Dragons

Craig: Can’t disagree with any of Jamie’s analysis on this one and don’t really have much to add. Interested to see how this goes, can’t see it being the long term answer for anyone involved but should be a good enough match.

Winners: Neville and the Dragons

US Title Match
Seth Rollins (c) vs. John Cena

Jamie: My gut tells me that Rollins will finish the night with all or nothing, and based on my prediction for his other match I think he retains here. Also, John Cena’s had his run with the US Title, he’s sold that merchandise, that story is told. Someone else should take that Title from Rollins. I’d love to see Rollins allowed to pin Cena clean just this once, but I can’t see it.

Winner, on a technicality: Seth Rollins

Craig: I think if Rollins loses any title it’ll be the US one not the WWE one so it’s this match where the outcome, for me, is up in the air. I still don’t see the WWE having Rollins lose the US title. As has been alluded to, Cena doesn’t need another run with the US title.

Winner: Seth Rollins.

WWE Tag Team Title Match
The New Day (Kofi Kingston, Big E, and/or Xavier Woods) (c) vs. The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray Dudley and D-Von Dudley)

Jamie: I feel pretty strongly that New Day should win this, or at least keep their titles. Triple H keeps talking about “the future” and the “next generation”, so why then book this next generation to lose to an old generation? Either way Xavier Woods will go through a table, but whether that causes a DQ finish or is born out of the frustration of losing is anyone’s guess.

Winners, by DQ: The Dudley Boyz

Craig: I’m certainly really looking forward to this one… One of the greatest tag teams ever taking on the best team the WWE currently have on their books. This is all about the rub. Dudleys don’t need the win but the New Day will definitely benefit from time spent in the ring with such a legendary duo.

Winners: The New Day will retain the gold but I think the Dudleys will get the win

Dolph Ziggler vs. Rusev (with Summer Rae)

Jamie: I want to care, but I don’t. Thankfully, these two are good enough to make me care as the match progresses. Surely the end of this feud is nigh, thus…

Winner: Dolph Ziggler

Craig: My only hope is that the match itself is much better than the rubbish storyline so far and I’m sure it will be. This will probably bring the feud to an end. For me, though, I can’t look beyond a Rusev win.

Winner: Rusev

Dean Ambrose, Roman Reigns, and TBA vs. The Wyatt Family (Bray Wyatt, Luke Harper, and Braun Strowman)

Jamie: I’m warming to this match. Don’t get me wrong, I’m hardly giddy with excitement, but the sight of Reigns confronting Wyatt is no longer my cue for a piss. Chances are it will be a good match and a mystery partner is always interesting. I heard a rumour that it might be ‘The Lone Wolf’ Baron Corbin, which makes very little sense to me, but time will tell.

Winners: The Wyatt Family

Craig: This should be good and I’m curious to finding out who the partner is. Jamie mentions Corbin, there’s been talk of Erick Rowan and even Khali and Savio Vega have had a mention, although not as serious contenders. If it’s Orton I riot, but even then it should still be a good match. For me, this all leads to a 4vs4 match at Survivor Series and that makes sense adding Rowan to the Wyatts and mystery partner and an other to Reigns and Ambrose. Wyatt win leading to another confrontations

Winners: Wyatts

WWE Intercontinental Title Match
Ryback (c) vs. Kevin Owens

Jamie: Please tell me Ryback’s time is up as IC Champion. Kevin Owens is winning that title sooner or later, let’s hope it’s sooner…

Winner, and new IC Champion: Kevin Owens

Craig: This has an Owens win all over it but my worry is it won’t really make much difference to how he is booked by the WWE and that is part of the problem… Curious to see how Ryback and Owens work together but the thing I’m most looking forward to is the potential feud between Owens and Cesaro…

Winner, and new IC Champion: Kevin Owens.

WWE Divas Title Match
Nikki Bella (c) vs. Charlotte

Jamie: Charlotte all day long, surely?! Nikki Bella is now the longest reigning champ; take that AJ Lee… assuming she gives a shit. I see no benefit in keeping the title on Nikki, I can think of nothing else she can do as Champion because the division is so small.

Winner, and new Divas Champion: Charlotte

Craig: Nikki has broken the record so now the WWE can remove AJ from the history books as the longest divas champion. WWE standard practise there. Now, if the company are serious about the divas division, a big if, it’ll be Charlotte that wins here.

Winner, and new Divas champ: Charlotte

WWE World Heavyweight Championship match
Seth Rollins (c) vs. John Cena

Jamie: What I said about the Tag Title match x 10. WWE are so protective of their brand and the message they convey, but what kind of message does it send if a 56 year old defeats a 29 year old for the World Title?! Bearing in mind, John Cena couldn’t even take the title from Rollins, but Sting will?! Yeah right.

Winner: Seth Rollins

Craig: I’ve never really dug Sting, even in his WCW heyday he didn’t do much for me. Nearly 15 years on, surely he’s not winning the WWE’s big one. Surely. That, though, makes me worry that this will be an interference and tomfoolery laden finish that won’t benefit Sting, which isn’t much of a problem, nor Seth Rollins, which is a problem. I think, though, that Rollins is the best guy to get a decent match out of the Stinger but it’s the long term booking re Rollins as champ that concerns me here.

Winner: Seth Rollins

Overall thoughts:

Jamie: There’s too many potentially stupid booking decisions that will likely get made for me to get excited by this card. Put it this way, I wasn’t into Sting v Triple H at Wrestlemania so I’m unlikely to care about the main event of this show. That said, there’s some potentially very good matches. My fingers are crossed that the booking does not let this show down.

Craig: For me, Night of Champions doesn’t really have a place as such with titles defended monthly on PPV anyway. There’s some good stuff but I can’t look past WWE, as ever, spoiling it with booking decisions. Think if Charlotte, Owens, New Day and Rollins all leave with gold it should be a good night.

Leave a Reply

