WWE TLC 2015 Predictions

TLC2015

Craig Wilson, Brian Damage & Jamie Lithgow

Tonight the WWE hold their final PPV of their year with the annual Tables, Ladders and Chairs. On the show Kevin Owens defends the IC gold against Dean Ambrose, Charlotte puts the divas title on the line against Paige, New Day face The Usos and the Lucha Dragons in a 3-way for the tag gold and more. Ahead of the show Craig, Brian and Jamie give their predictions and thoughts on the event.

Tag Team Tables Elimination Match: Bray Wyatt, Braun Strowman, Luke Harper and Erick Rowan vs. Tommy Dreamer, Rhyno and The Dudley Boyz

Craig: This match could have been so much more. If Vince watched wrestling out with the WWE he’d have seen how good Bubba Ray was at cutting promos and would have given the Dudleyz promo time that wasn’t just a hark back to their ECW run. That would have allowed them to look really strong. Instead we have a team with no momentum taking on a team fresh from a defeat at the hands of Kane and The Undertaker. Can’t look beyond a win for the Wyatts.

Winners: The Wyatts

Brian: This should be…as Jim Ross says…a slobber knocker. It could be good or could be really bad. While it is nice to see Tommy Dreamer and Rhyno back in the WWE…it would have been cool for the Dudley Boyz to introduce a couple of brothers from Dudleyville instead. Maybe Spike Dudley? Maybe a new Dudley from the NXT roster?

Winners: The Wyatt Family

Jamie: I assume to be eliminated a wrestler has to go through a table? That means at least four table spots in this one match alone. It’s certainly overkill and I really dislike tables matches, but at least this a new twist on a tired formula. I’m always put off by ECW revival angles – it’s almost 2016 folks – but as a means of putting the Wyatts over before they job in their next feud, I like the look of this match.

Winners: The Wyatt Family

Rusev vs Ryback

Craig: The only thing interesting about this match is that both guys really could do with the win but despite that I couldn’t really care less about this one. *tosses coin*

Winner: Rusev.

Brian: Bathroom break for me with this one…

Winner: Rusev

Jamie: Two guys WWE have very clearly given up on going one on one……. hold me back! Granted, Ryback was never going to become that next big babyface, but how on Earth have WWE allowed the once killer heel Rusev to drop into that pack of mid-card guys that nobody really cares about? Surely Rusev wins this, at least he is involved with something in the League of Nations, what is Ryback’s current purpose?

Winner: Rusev

WWE United States Title Chairs Match: Alberto Del Rio vs. Jack Swagger

Craig: Hahahahahaha

Winner: Alberto Del Rio

Brian: Jack Swagger has been M.I.A. for months and now all of a sudden he is getting a push? Sorry, not buying it.

Winner: Alberto Del Rio

Jamie: Seriously?

Winner: Alberto Del Rio

Triple Threat WWE Tag Team Title Match: Champions The New Day vs. The Usos vs. The Lucha Dragons

Craig: This has everything needed to be a spotfest. A classic it will not be but there will be plenty of entertainment here to keep us happy. If the New Day are to drop the gold it’d be back to the Usos – just can’t see Lucha Dragons as champions. That said, I’m more hopeful of a long title run for The New Day so they are my pick here.

Winners: The New Day

Brian: This should be a good match. The Usos have picked up where they left off before their injuries. I love Kalisto of the Lucha Dragons…he is so dynamic in the ring. The New Day are still the most entertaining group in the WWE right now. I think the Usos need a little more momentum going into this feud with the League of Nations faction…sooooo….

Winners: Usos (New tag team champions)

Jamie: Sounds like a spotfest – which it will probably be – but the inclusion of The New Day does allow this match to have a story and a reason for fans to care between the stunts. This match reminds me slightly of the old Edge & Christian vs. The Dudleys vs. The Hardyz matches, in which E&C usually escaped with the gold.

Winners: The New Day

WWE Intercontinental Title Match: Champion Kevin Owens vs. Dean Ambrose

Craig: Now we are talking. This is the sorta match I can get myself interested in. Two guys with a no nonsense, hard-hitting brawling style. This should be a slobberknocker. I think Owens needs a bit more time with the title to make him seem like a credible champ but I hope these two are able to stretch a decent feud out of this. We benefit if they can.

Winner: Kevin Owens.

Brian: This could be the match of the night if done right. Kevin Owens and Dean Ambrose can work and I think this match will steal the show.

Winner: Kevin Owens

Jamie: Honestly? Not that into this. Kevin Owens I like a lot, he’s a dick and he’s capable of producing outstanding matches. However, I feel like I’ve been giving Dean Ambrose the benefit of the doubt for too long. Off the top of my head I can’t think of one truly outstanding singles match he’s had, so I find his position atop a pedestal with some fans baffling. I also don’t get how he is “Unstable” or a “lunatic”. These are things Michael Cole says, but I’ve seen little evidence of it from Ambrose himself. Oh wait, he threw a coke over Owens… lunacy! My fingers are crossed that this is that outstanding match for Ambrose, but my hunch is that it’ll be good, and not much more.

Winner (by cheating): Kevin Owens

WWE Divas Title Match: Charlotte (w/Ric Flair) vs. Paige

Craig: I’m losing interest in this quickly and let’s be honest, it’s going to be the match between the IC title and the WWE title match, isn’t it? To allow fans to get their breath back.

Winner: Paige – can’t see there not being a title change on this show.

Brian: Charlotte will be better as a heel than a babyface and kudos to the WWE for realizing this sooner rather than later. Paige on the other hand is better as the tweener. Her personality has grown leaps and bounds from her initial debut. Should be a solid match.

Winner: Charlotte

Jamie: Actually liking this feud now. Paige is working back to being a tweener/babyface and Charlotte is on her way towards being a fully fledged heel. They both seem more comfortable in these roles, and as a viewer I find that more comfortable to watch and enjoy. Charlotte’s thing now seems to be hanging onto her title, by hook or by crook. Thus…

Winner (by DQ or something lame): Paige

TLC Match For WWE World Heavyweight Title: Champion Sheamus vs. Roman Reigns

Craig: We’re going to be seeing a lot of this match, aren’t we? Which is a real pity. Build towards this could have pretty good. Epic, no. But solid, yes. Instead, with monthly events, two TV shows a week and a distinct lack of top tier talent we are likely to see this pair wrestle far more than will be able to keep us interested.

Winner: Sheamus

Brian: The key is for Sheamus to look really strong as WWE champion…not some cowardly heel. I really don’t seeing this as being all that good…but you never know.

Winner: Sheamus

Jamie: I’m sometimes critical of WWE because I disagree with their booking, but this time I don’t even care enough to get upset by my lack interest. I honestly don’t care who wins, and I’m not saying that because I’m angry with the booking. I genuinely have no interest in Roman Reigns’ quest to become champion or Sheamus’ efforts to keep the belt. Neither character has connected with me.

Winner, and new WWE Champion: Roman Reigns

Overall:

Craig: Meh. I’m ambivalent at the best of times towards these gimmick heavy PPVs and this does nothing for me. I’ll probably flick through it the next morning picking through the bits I actually want to watch – that shouldn’t take me all that long.

Brian: I like Craig…am not a fan of gimmicky shows like TLC and Extreme Rules. There is nothing on this show as a fan I am dying to see. I’ll watch…but when I have the capabilities to fast forward it…not live.

Jamie: Chances are some of these matches will be good, but if I don’t care does it count? The Tag Title and Divas Title matches interest me, the rest I will fast forward through, assuming I can be bothered watching this show at some point next week.

Leave a Reply

