Book or Cook? The Booking of The Rock

rock

Craig Wilson, Jamie Lithgow and Brian Damage

The WWE roster is filled with “superstars” at every level. There are the main roster guys who regularly appear on Raw and SmackDown, those who are used as glorified jobbers and those who are barely used at all. In this series of pieces, we will take an individual wrestler barely used and decide if they are worth keeping or should they be let go. Today we decide if we Book or Cook The Rock as an in-ring competitor.

Craig: With the roster split presenting superstars on the main roster with fresh opportunities, our Book or Cook series continues with another part-time member of the roster, this time The Rock.

Unquestionably one of the biggest names in wrestling history thanks to his main event status during the Attitude Era. It’s allowed him to return time and time to the WWE in a main event spot – including the twice in a lifetime clashes with John Cena.

But is there still gas left in the wrestling tank of Dwayne Johnson? Outside of the ring, he has becomne one of the biggest names in Hollywood. But let’s not forget he’s only 44 – seven years younger than The Undertaker, five years younger than Kane and, this one surprised me, two years younger than Triple H.

So, team, The Rock: Book or Cook?

Jamie: Cook, straight off the bat. As a wrestler WWE do not need him, even at Wrestlemania. Yes, he does bring that genuine A-list celebrity status, but he can do that without having to be involved in an actual match. I’m a massive Rock fan and if someone told me that next week he will be appearing on Raw I would watch that show. I wouldn’t care if he’s in a match are just calling somebody a teticle, you would be preaching to the converted. Granted he probably does have another Wrestlemania match, or two, in him but is there any point? Nobody wants The Rock to lose, they want him to see him kick ass. However, at 44 and as a part-timer that is exactly what he really should be doing if competing against a ‘new era’ Superstar.

Craig: Have to say cook as well. His “match” at Mania this year was a total waste of everyone’s time and a sorry way to use Erick Rowan. That said, the crowd was certainly more into that match than the main event…

But I totally agree. The Rock shouldn’t be beating the new era superstars but there’s no way he would be coming back to lose matches, is there? I mean, Chris Jericho can do it whilst remaining credible but I just can’t envisage The Rock coming back, invariably to promote a film, and losing. Can you?

Jamie: The only case I can make for The Rock competing in and winning future matches in WWE is in a tag team capacity. That appears to be how they have set up his relationship with Roman Reigns, only Reigns is massively unpopular which makes this association utterly pointless. Had fans not rebelled against Reigns then a tag match alongside The Rock would have been ideal in terms of raising his profile.

I think we can agree that a singles match featuring The Rock does nothing for anybody at this point, and a shift towards teaming with others has been a recurring theme with Rocky in most of his recent appearances – Reigns, Cena, Rousey. Could a tag team match featuring The Rock work? If so, who with and who against?

Brian: I don’t think anything involving a match will work at this point. MAYBE a one time Wrestlemania match with Rock teaming up with a Rhonda Rousey against Triple H and Stephanie McMahon…maybe.

Other than that, this is suppose to be a new era in the WWE. Having Rock beat of new, young talent would do nobody any good. If he was willing to job to say Apollo Crews or somebody like that to get them over I say book him. I just don’t see that as realistic, so as much as I enjoy the Rock…I say cook him.

Craig: I agree, if there’s a tag that would work then I’m not against it but I’m not really up for there being a tag match for absolutely no reason and it just being for the sake of it. With Rousey vs Trips and Stephanie could be good fun though. Beyond that, I’m not that fussed and think it’s likely to be a cook from me. Thanks for everything, Rocky, but we’re in a new era now and need new stars.

Jamie: I agree. Sticking him in a tag match is just the lesser of two evils. Something with non-active wrestlers is probably all that is on offer for him. Rock and Rhonda vs. Trips and Steph does sound cool, but it’s the Rhonda Rousey part that has most appeal for me. She could just as easily team with someone else. The only thing truly missing from The Rock’s WWE career is a rematch with Brock Lesnar, but I can’t see either man doing that job. It’s a cook from me.

Brian: I smell what the Rock is Cookin’…it’s himself unfortunately.

So quite consensual, in terms of an in-ring career it’s a cook from the team.

Got a different opinion? Leave your thoughts in the comments section below.

You can read all previous ‘Book or Cook?’ pieces here.

5 thoughts on “Book or Cook? The Booking of The Rock

  1. So true Brian…remember when Hogan would come back after or before another movie? Let The Rock stay away unless it’s to give an award, commentary or the like but no more matches.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the Rock but I’m going to admit that ever since his feud with CM Punk. A lot of the flaws about him began to emerge where it was clear he couldn’t keep up with CM Punk as Punk was pretty much out-wrestling him and kicking his ass as it was a dose of reality that I found myself seeing. The 2nd match against Cena at WrestleMania 29 sucked. It fucking sucked. It wasn’t the fact that Rock jobbed to Cena which I knew would happen but it was the fact that the Rock seemingly passed to the torch to someone who doesn’t deserve to be the Man. I didn’t mind his appearance at WrestleMania 30 but it seems like every time he appeared. He just is there to hype things up and yet, I found myself becoming indifferent. I just didn’t care what he had to say.

    His recent appearance at WrestleMania 32 in my opinion was a slap in the face to fans and to the boys in the back. By telling them that they had broken the all-time attendance record (which was half-true) and making it a big deal was one thing but then beating Erick Rowan like that and then team up with Cena of all people was for me the final straw. He fucking lied to the people. I want him cooked and for good. I want someone to finally do a shoot promo and call the Rock out on all of his bullshit and then just go at him to the point that his own trash-talking can’t back it up and he no longer has the balls to back that shit up in the ring. Bottom line is this. He is a washed-up old-fart coasting on his old glory and is now John Cena’s bitch.

    Like

  3. Rock vs. Brock I believe still can happen if he beats Orton at summerslam. Ever since he came back, he hasn’t putting over anyone he needed to. I would rather see Rock face Reigns and have Reigns beat his ass clean, but that’s just me.

    Like

  4. Pingback: This Week in Wrestling 2016 week 32 | Ring the Damn Bell

Leave a Reply

