WWE SummerSlam 2016 Predictions

SummerSlam_2016

Brian Damage, Jamie Lithgow and Craig Wilson

It’s the hottest night of the summer with the season’s biggest wrestling show. And boy do we have a stacked SummerSlam card this year with four or five matches built up as potential main event clashes. We’ll crown the first Universal Champion, see Dolph Ziggler challenge Deam Ambrose for the WWE title, Randy Orton clashes with Brock Lesnar, John Cena locks up with AJ Styles and Roman Reigns vies to win the US title. All that and more in store and today we preview and share our predictions for the show.

Pre-Show Singles match: First match in Best of Seven Series
Cesaro vs. Sheamus

Brian: I love these two against each other in the ring. They both work super stiff and it is always entertaining. What is the purpose of this series though? Does the winner get anything as a reward ala a title opportunity? Regardless, it should make for some classic matches.

Winner: Sheamus

Jamie: Does it matter? It’s wrestling, these things always go to a seventh match decider.

Winner: Oh, let’s say Cesaro

Craig: Am with Brian, I like the pairing of these two too. As it’s a best of seven it could go any way and likely to go all the way. Toss a coin for this one…

Winner: Sheamus

Pre-Show Tag match
Sami Zayn and Neville vs. The Dudley Boyz

Brian: Neville and Zayn will win this one hands down. If anything interesting happens in this match, it’ll be the break-up of the Dudleys with Bubba turning on D-Von.

Winners: Neville and Zayn

Jamie: Granted The Dudley Boyz are getting on a bit these days, but WWE are still not shy in telling us that they are the most decorated Tag Team in WWE history. So, it’ll look a little odd when (not if) a pair of individuals in the form of Neville and Zayn defeat them. By no means am I the biggest Dudley Boyz fan, but a team should always beat a group of individuals. But then again, this is a ‘new era’ vs ‘old era’ match….

Winners: Neville and Zayn

Craig: Neville and Zayn have to win this – a Dudleyz victory makes zero sense… As Brian alludes to, the interesting stuff could come from a Dudleyz split.

Winners: Neville and Zayn.

Pre-Show: 12-man tag match
American Alpha, The Hype Bros and The Usos vs. Breezango, The Ascension and The Vaudevillains

Brian: It’s no surprise that this match is to get American Alpha over as the next big thing in tag team wrestling and deservedly so. The team with American Alpha will win easily.

Winners: American Alpha, Hype Bros and The Usos

Jamie: Genuine question here; how often do the heels win these last minute, multi-person matches? On paper this looks such an easy win for the good guys. What I do like, however, is that this should be a good match. I agree with Brian’s assumption that it should provide a good platform for Jordan and Gable to break the world suplex record!

Winners: The babyface team

Craig: The WWE have to do much better with the tag team division on the Smackdown brand than solely throwing all the teams into the ring at once and hoping for the best. As Brian says, this is a vehicle to make American Alpha look strong so don’t be surprised if they throw all six of the heels all over the place during the course of this one. The problem with this match will be the fact that each team will only get a minute or so, due to time constraints and the numbers involved.

Winners: The good guys.

Tag team match for the WWE Tag Team Championship
The New Day (Kofi Kingston and Xavier Woods) (c) vs. Luke Gallows and Karl Anderson

Brian: I go back and forth on this one seemingly every week. I really felt that Anderson and Gallows would beat New Day for the tag team titles. Then I think the New Day will win. This week I am just going to stick to my original prediction and say that Anderson and Gallows will win the tag team belts.

Winners: Luke Gallows and Karl Anderson

Jamie: I say this every month but maybe this time New Day will drop the belts? Nah. I reckon Xavier Woods will go over here, not The Club.

Winners: The New Day

Craig: I am totally torn here. Do the WWE have New Day break the year with the tag titles or do they pull the trigger on Luke Gallows and Karl Anderson? This is total toss a coin stuff again for me. But, sadly, I think the end is nigh for New Day’s time as tag champs.

Winners: Luke Gallows and Karl Anderson

Six-woman tag team match
Carmella, Becky Lynch and Naomi vs. Natalya, Eva Marie and Alexa Bliss

Brian: I really, really don’t care either way in this match and that is not necessarily a good thing considering all the progress the women made in the WWE this year.

Winners: Carmella, Becky Lynch and Naomi

Jamie: So, we’re back to hiding the deficiencies of various female wrestlers by booking them in multi-person tag matches are we? You know, they could have just not booked some of the performers here. I’d have been happy with a Natalya vs Becky gimmick rematch. Oh well, my assumption is that Becky Lynch’s bad luck continues…

Winners: Natalya, Eva Marie and Alexa Bliss

Craig: Seriously, the only interesting this about this one is how the WWE deal with the Eva Marie situation. Beyond that, I can barely put into words how little I care about this…

Winners: Carmella, Becky and Naomi.

Singles match for the WWE Intercontinental Championship
The Miz (c) (with Maryse) vs. Apollo Crews

Brian: Is it wrong that I am rooting for the Miz in this one? Apollo Crews is so talented inside the ring, but has yet to identify himself with a particular personality. With that said, I think maybe Apollo gets the win here and the IC belt.

Winner: Apollo Crews

Jamie: The Miz is such a vanilla heel and Apollo Crews is such a dull babyface. Thus, with expectations low I’m backing this match to actually be pretty good, and hopefully we get a satisfying conclusion.

Winner, and new IC Champion: Apollo Crews

Craig: I’m with the others, I think Apollo will win the tag titles but I think it’ll end up not working out. Crews has been poor on the main roster, due to lack of what creative has for him, so it strikes me as putting gold on Crews in the hope that that is enough to get him over. Sadly, I don’t think that’ll be enough…

Winners: And new IC Champion Apollo Crews.

Singles match for the WWE Women’s Championship
Sasha Banks (c) vs. Charlotte

Brian: This should be one of the better matches of the evening. Sasha is a legit star and I see her holding the title for quite a while. I see Dana Brooke somehow getting involved and costing Charlotte the match leading to a feud between teacher and student.

Winner: Sasha Banks

Jamie: I always figured that Sasha would win the title on a show like this, but here she is defending. I assume she wins and cements her spot.

Winner: Sasha Banks

Craig: In agreement with both Jamie and Brian here. This is all about furthering Dana Brooke and Charlotte’s stuff. Has the potential, though, to be a decent clash.

Winner: Sasha Banks

Tag team match
Enzo Amore and Big Cass vs. Chris Jericho and Kevin Owens

Brian: I am absolutely loving the chemistry between Chris Jericho and Kevin Owens. They make a very entertaining team. Dare I say even more entertaining than Enzo and Cass? Despite my appreciation of the JeriKO tag team…Enzo and Big Cass will win this one in their backyard.

Winners: Enzo Amore and Big Cass

Jamie: There’s a good chance that this will be the most fun match of the night. The mix of personalities is perfect here. I’m assuming Enzo and Big Cass get the hometown win.

Winners: Enzo Amore and Big Cass

Craig: I love JeriKO’s shtick but there is no real reason for them to win this one. That said, I can see them taking the win and Enzo and Big Cass winning tomorrow evening on Raw.

Winners: JeriKO.

Singles match
John Cena vs. AJ Styles

Brian: Does anybody really see AJ Styles winning this thing? I would love to see Styles win and continue his momentum, but I just don’t see John Cena losing another singles match to Styles. It should still be pretty good.

Winner: John Cena

Jamie: I wish I could say AJ Styles will win. I wish I could say that it no longer matters how John Cena is booked because he’ll maintain his status as the top guy regardless. I wish I could say that WWE will put their money where their mouth is and book the ‘new era’ to cleanly defeat the ‘old era’… but they won’t.

Winner: John Cena

Craig: Look at my blog team-mates of little faith. I think Styles wins this. I think this will be a good evening for The Club. I have little doubt that Anderson and Gallows will play a part of some sort in this one, which will take some of the gloss of the Styles win, but it’s a win nonetheless. Also, I think this could be a surprise hit.

Winner: Styles

Singles match for the WWE United States Championship
Rusev (c) (with Lana) vs. Roman Reigns

Brian: Seeing that Roman Reigns has had the upper hand in this feud since it began. Also factoring in that Reigns defeated Rusev on Raw this past Monday…I see Rusev winning here and successfully retaining his US title.

Winner: Rusev

Jamie: Interesting one, this really could be an indicator of Reigns’ status in WWE. This is a match he cannot afford to lose, but it’s also a match I cannot see Rusev losing either. I foresee shenanigans…

Winner, by shady means: Rusev

Craig: Like Brian, and based on the way WWE books things, the fact that Reigns has dominated proceedings so far doesn’t bode well at all for him winning this. It’s a Rusev retain here. Much like the Enzo & Big Cass/JeriKO bout, I see a reversal tomorrow night on Raw.

Singles match
Brock Lesnar (with Paul Heyman) vs. Randy Orton

Brian: Brock Lesnar always makes his matches have a big time feel to them. It will probably be sloppy, but the crowd should be into it. I see Lesnar setting Orton up for the F-5 and have Orton counter it and turn the move into an RKO.

Winner: Randy Orton

Jamie: This a recurring theme with Brock Lesnar matches of late; I’m not interested. Hopefully Orton wins because what use is a win to Lesnar? The recently returned Orton needs it more.

Winner: Randy Orton

Craig: I don’t give a monkeys about this one. The build has seemed very forced and I’m not a big fan of either man. Like Jamie, it comes down to who needs a win more. Orton, then, I guess.

Winner: Randy Orton.

Singles match for the WWE Universal Championship
Finn Bálor vs. Seth Rollins

Brain: On paper, this should be one heck of a match. I see the crowd into it from beginning to end. I am also morbidly curious to see what the new Universal title belt looks like. While my heart says Finn Balor will win…my brain is telling me otherwise.

Winner: Seth Rollins

Jamie: I dread to think what this belt will look like. I am more optimistic about the match though, which at worst will be good and at best could reach match of the year levels. I just cannot see WWE going all the way with Balor, yet. Keep some fuel in the tank, there’s still plenty of mileage left in him as a challenger.

Winner, and new Universal Champion: Seth Rollins

Craig: Yeah, not got great hopes either for how this title will look… Again a cite the lack of faith in my colleagues, but I think Balor wins this. He’s already defeated some big names to get this far. This won’t, however, be the end of the programme between the pair and that’s something we should be very happy about.

Winner: Finn Balor.

Singles match for the WWE World Championship
Dean Ambrose (c) vs. Dolph Ziggler

Brian: This should also be a decent match. What I *think* will happen is Dolph Ziggler turns heel perhaps after the match or the next night on Raw. I don’t think Ziggler will win the title here…yet.

Winner: Dean Ambrose

Jamie: There has to be more to this match than this, right? On the surface I can’t see anything other than an Ambrose win. Maybe Brian’s right, maybe Ziggler will turn heel. Either way, there is surely more than meets the eye here.

Winner: Dean Ambrose

Craig: Ambrose win, Ziggler heel turn.

Winner: Dean Ambrose.

OVERALL

Brian: The card seems stacked, but I am just not that excited for what traditionally is one of the bigger shows of the year. I hope it exceeds my expectations. We shall see.

Jamie: Not a card to entice the casual fan, but it certainly has me interested. I’m quite looking forward to watching this on Monday, and don’t envisage myself fast-forwarding too much of it either.

Craig: Christ, this is a big, big card. How much will each match get?! It’s stacked and there’s plenty to look forward to on the card. Not booked Monday off to watch it live but don’t envisage having to fast forward through much of this at all.

3 thoughts on “WWE SummerSlam 2016 Predictions

  1. 1. Cesaro
    2. Zayn and Neville
    3. The babyface team
    4. The Club (new champs)
    5. Carmella, Lynch, and Naomi
    6. The Miz
    7. Banks
    8. Upset special: Jericho and Owens
    9. Styles
    10. Rusev and Reigns double DQ
    11. Orton
    12. Balor (new Universal champ)
    13. Ambrose retains WWE World title.

    Like

  2. In case Eva can’t participate in the six-woman tag match, maybe they should have Nia Jax take her place and squash the babyfaces.

    Like

  3. Pingback: This Week in Wrestling 2016 week 35 | Ring the Damn Bell

Leave a Reply

