WWE No Mercy 2016 Predictions

no-mercy-2016

Brian Damage, Craig Wilson and Russ Morgan

Tonight Smackdown Live hosts its second event since the brand split in ‘No Mercy’. All the show’s titles are on the line, including AJ Styles WWE Championship as John Cena vies to make history by becoming a sixteen time world champion. Ahead of the show, Brian, Craig and Russ share their thoughts and predictions on the event.

Nikki Bella vs Carmella

Brian: Ugh, where do I begin or end with this? Not exactly going to be a Sasha Banks vs. Charlotte type of match. This reeks of the now defunct “Divas” division type of match. No interest in it whatsoever.

Winner: Nikki Bella

Craig: Got to share Brian’s satisfaction with this one. This is the worst excess of the Total Divas women’s division. I don’t have a strong opinion on either performer in this match. I’m guessing if the WWE want to go somewhere with Carmella then she would be the obvious winner here.

Winner: Carmella

Russ: Carmella being booked as a heel is kinda working, think this feud will go on a bit longer. Wouldn’t surprise me if Bella lost this one to progress the storyline.

Winner: Carmella

Bray Wyatt vs Randy Orton

Brian: I would love to predict that Bray Wyatt will get the victory here, but history tells us that Bray Wyatt never really wins any big matches. I will stick to my guns though and say that the recently medically cleared Luke Harper will appear and help Wyatt win.

Winner: Bray Wyatt

Craig: The hype for this one has been quite entertaining and the amount of time it’s been given on Smackdown, and the way it has played out, has given this something of a big match feel. I’m not talking main event but considering how cold both superstars are, relative certainly to where they could be, the WWE have done well with the booking so far for this. But is it tonight they fail? Do they have Orton go over, damaging Wyatt or do they have Wyatt go over thanks to interference and not really giving him the shot in the arm he needs? For me, Bray needs to win. He, as Brian points out, has a poor record when it comes to winning the big matches…

Winner: Bray Wyatt

Russ: Bray Wyatt has lost so many times, it’s a no brainer that Orton wins this match.

Winner: Randy Orton

Intercontinental Title Match: Title vs Career
The Miz (c) vs Dolph Ziggler

Brian: As much as I would like to see DZ win the match and the title. I think the Miz wins. I really believe that the WWE wants the Miz to break the Honkytonk Man’s longest IC title reign. As for Ziggler, perhaps he will lose by some sort of controversial finish, take some time off and eventually return. I hope.

Winner: The Miz

Craig: I think it would be a poor choice to have Ziggler win this. After all, he’s staked his career on this and would devalue, not that retirement in wrestling has much value – I’m looking at you Terry Funk, but it would feel quite flat. Plus, it would get even more heat for The Miz if he won by nefarious means here, which I expect.

Winner: The Miz

Russ: The Miz is a great champ, but I’m not a massive fan of these “retirement stipulation” matches. Ziggler is good wrestler and brilliant seller. The IC Title is in good hands with either of these guys. Miz loses, he moves up to main event.

Winner: Dolph Ziggler

Smackdown Tag Team Title Match
Heath Slater & Rhyno (c) vs The Usos

Brian: I love Heath Slater! It would be great to see him and Rhyno retain the titles, but I think the belts will go to the red hot Usos in this one.

Winners; The Usos

Craig: The WWE appear to have finally found something for The Usos. Gone is the bland babyface shtick of old and now we have a no nonsense tandem reeking havoc on the Smackdown tag team division. We all know that The Usos vs America Alpha is round the corner and I expect The Usos to go into that with the Smackdown tag gold around their waists. I think this is the only title that moves on Sunday.

Winners, and new Smackdown tag team champions: The Usos

Russ: Heath and Rhyno are still over as a team and I’m enjoying their work, but it wouldn’t surprise me to see the Usos go over and moving onwards to other stuff.

Winners: Usos

Smackdown Women’s Title Match
Becky Lynch (c) vs Alexa Bliss

Brian: This may be a deceptively good match. Alex Bliss is no Bayley or Sasha but is decent and athletic. Becky Lynch is solid as always. Look for Lynch to win via submission.

Winner: Becky Lynch

Craig: Becky Lynch has been excellent as Smackdown women’s champion, I’m a big fan of her – not so much the ‘Irish lass kicker’ line but hey ho. Alexa Bliss is solid, if unspectacular too. This, as Brian suggests, could end up being pretty decent. Should be a good back and forth match and I expect Becky to triumph in the end.

Winner: Becky Lynch

Russ: Becky Lynch every time. Not much to say.

Winner: Becky Lynch

WWE World Championship match
AJ Styles (c) vs Dean Ambrose vs John Cena

Brian: I know this might hurt people’s eyes to read, but I do think history will be made at No Mercy. John Cena will win the WWE title for a record tying 16th time. I certainly hope I am wrong, but it just feels that way.

Winner: John Cena

Craig: I disagree with Brian here. The focus has been on Cena’s chances to make history but it will feel flat and expected if that is to happen. I just don’t think it will. I think the WWE have faith in AJ Styles and having him win here, and thus preventing Cena making history, will make this an even bigger deal than it is.

Winner: AJ Styles

Russ: Cena is on the cusp of equaling the most title reigns, but I just don’t see him winning just to drop it back to AJ and take time out. Ambrose is making up the numbers which is pretty sad. AJ all the way!

Winner: AJ Styles

Overall

Brian: Eh, nothing really stands out on this card as being special and extraordinary. I will watch it, but my expectations are extremely low for it.

Craig: Like the last Smackdown show, on paper it doesn’t look anything like spectacular but Backlash was much better on the night than Clash of Champions was. And I expect this to follow a similar formula, much like Smackdown, that on paper it might be lacking but it delivers on the night.

Russ: Not a brilliant card, but I will watch it on catch-up.

4 thoughts on “WWE No Mercy 2016 Predictions

  1. I know it’s only a pre-show match, but you didn’t give your predictions for Jack Swagger vs. Baron Corbin.

    Also, Becky vs. Alexa won’t be happening tomorrow because Becky picked up an undisclosed injury.

    Like

  2. 1. Corbin.
    2. Carmella
    3. Wyatt and Orton double DQ
    4. Miz
    5. Usos (Rhyno turns heel)
    6. Lynch (if it actually occurs)
    7. Cena (new champ)

    Like

    • Well, Becky vs. Alexa won’t be happening tonight, so the pre-show will also be getting an eight-man tag match pitting American Alpha and the Hype Bros against the Vaudevillains and The Ascension.

      Like

  3. Pingback: This Week in Wrestling 2016 week 42 | Ring the Damn Bell

Leave a Reply

