WWE Hell in a Cell 2016 Preview and Predictions

hell_in_a_cell_poster_2016

Brian Damage, Russ Morgan and Craig Wilson

Tonight is WWE Hell in a Cell 2016, a Raw exclusive show. As the poster above shows, much of the focus is on hometown girl Sasha Banks challenging Charlotte for the women’s title within the confines of the cell. Elsewhere, Kevin Owens and Seth Rollins as well as Roman Reigns and Rusev battle in the cage. Today we share our preview and predictions for the event.

Pre-show
Cedric Alexander, Lince Dorado & Sin Cara vs. Tony Nese, Drew Gulak & Ariya Daivari

Brian: A car wreck if I ever have seen one on paper. I lot of flying bodies and probably a few Holy Sh!t moments. I’m not saying it won’t be any good, as a matter of fact, it may be downright awesome. We shall see…

Winners: Cedric Alexander, Lince Dorado & Sin Cara

Russ: Don’t really know much about any of the guys here. The cruiserweight division for me is running out of steam very quickly. Should be some crazy high spots, though.

Winner: Alexander, Dorado and Sin Cara

Craig: No thought behind this one. Six guys that weren’t booked yet thrown together into a six-man tag in the hope that the spots will be enough to cover for the lack of any story behind it. As it’s the pre-show, I think it’ll do just enough.

Winner: Alexander and co.

Pre-show
Bayley vs. Dana Brooke

Craig: I’m starting to feel sorry for Bayley on the main roster. It’s increasingly clear that there is certainly nothing for her in the short-term for her on the main roster beyond facing the awful Brooke. Here’s hoping there’s something longer term. Worst thing? I can see her losing this one.

Winner: Dana Brooke

Luke Gallows and Karl Anderson vs Enzo Amore and Big Cass

Brian: Seeing as how Gallows and Anderson have been getting the upper hand on Enzo and Cass the last couple of weeks, my predictions is that Enzo and Big Cass come away with the victory here.

Winners: Enzo Amore and Big Cass

Russ: Any betting man would say “The Club” have no chance. Enzo and Cass have beat Gallows and Anderson pretty handily on RAW and The Club have looked like losers. Enzo and Cass are already over so they don’t need this PPV win, whereas The Club absolutely need it to get some credibility back.

Winners: Gallows and Anderson

Craig: You’d think by the way that WWE books in its 50/50 way that the Club winning on TV means that Enzo and Cass win this one, continuing to show that the WWE have no idea what to do with Gallows and Anderson. Hopefully, I’m wrong and it’s those two that win this, I have my doubts…

Winners: Enzo and Cass

WWE Raw Tag Team Championship Match:
The New Day (c’s) vs. Sheamus and Cesaro

Brian: A part of me wants to believe that Vince McMahon wants the New Day to break Demolition’s record as longest tag team title reign. The other part of me feels that the unlikely duo of Sheamus and Cesaro will win the gold at HIAC. I am picking the odd couple in this one.

Winners: Cesaro and Sheamus

Russ: Obvious, New Day win so they are on course to break Demolitions record. I’m not too hot on the team of Sheamus and Cesaro either.

Winners: the New Day

Craig: Part of me wants Demolition, as a huge fan of them, to keep their record… I also know that the WWE are quite fond of thrown-together pairs winning the tag belts. Like Russ, am not too hot on Sheamus and Cesaro but can sorta see these guys as tag champs…

Winners: Cesaro and Sheamus

WWE United States Championship Hell in a Cell Match:
Roman Reigns (c) vs. Rusev (with Lana)

Brian: I have to admit, this feud has been pretty damn entertaining. Very physical and intense. What made it work so well is the fact that Reigns has had very limited mic time. This should be pretty decent.

Winner: Roman Reigns

Russ: I think this match will be decent and I hope this is the blow-off. This feud has been going on far too long now and I’m bored of it. Reigns will retain, but what’s next for Rusev?

Winner: Roman Reigns

Craig: Yeah, I hope this is the blow-off match too as I, too, am growing weary of it.

Winner: Roman Reigns

WWE Cruiserweight Championship Match:
TJ Perkins vs. Brian Kendrick

Brian: Two exceptional wrestlers that nobody really cares about. That in itself is sad…but it should be a good match.

Winner: TJ Perkins

Russ: TJ Perkins is pretty hot right now, also I feel Kendrick is there to over the younger guy. Would be nice to see Kendrick with the strap, but I can’t see TJ losing his first feud.

Winner: TJ Perkins

Craig: The cruiserweight division is nothing like as interesting or exciting as the CWC was, which is a crying shame and further highlights some of the real deep-rooted problems that Raw has but that’s for another time.

Winner: *flips coin* TJ Perkins.

WWE Universal Championship Hell in a Cell Match:
Kevin Owens (c) vs. Seth Rollins

Brian: Could be good and I am hoping that it is. I am not really buying Seth Rollins as a top babyface, but I love Kevin Owens work as a heel. Owens will retain the title in this match.

Winner: Kevin Owens

Russ: Should be a great match and I hope so as this feud is going nowhere fast. Seth Rollins is a top guy in the company, but I feel Owens might be better served moving onto someone else, I hope Jericho.

Winner: Kevin Owens

Craig: I’m looking forward to this one, as others are. Owens is one of my favourite heels at the moment. What I do hope is that Chris Jericho doesn’t get involved in the finish of this one, these two click for me in the ring and I hope it’s left to them to do this one. Who wins and what’s next for both is a big one. However, I think there’ll be interference and that’ll prevent Rollins winning here.

Winner: Kevin Owens

WWE Raw Women’s Championship Hell in a Cell Match:
Sasha Banks (c) vs. Charlotte

Brian: There is a reason why this match is the main event of the evening. It is expected to be the best match of the night and I have no reason to believe that it won’t. I really think Charlotte should win, but seeing as this is taking place in Sasha’s hometown of Boston….Sasha goes over here breaking Charlotte’s undefeated streak on pay per views.

Winner: Sasha Banks

Russ: I’m not a great watcher of women’s wrestling, but I’m actually pretty invested in this match. Charlotte is great, but we need someone new as champion. Great build up, Sasha Banks in her hometown. She goes over. Simples.

Winner Sasha Banks

Craig: I think Charlotte is great but I’ve never really thought she was a great champion, as odd as that may sound. Factor in that this show is in Sasha’s hometown, this has a Sasha win, sending the crowd home happy written all over.

Winner: Sasha Banks

Overall:

Brian: As silly as this might sound, I would be a lot more excited for the Hell in a Cell…if it was just one featured match instead of three. I think it is a bit of overkill in my opinion. Also, since blood has been basically eliminated from the WWE, it makes the Cell look rather ordinary instead of “demonic.”

Russ: Disappointed Jericho isn’t on the card, but that doesn’t mean he won’t be seen. The card looks pretty good for my money. I will definitely catch it later. Bit of HIAC overkill. They mystique is going. As mentioned, hope some of the feuds are ended as some have been going on far too long now.

Craig: I’ve not bothered booking the next day off to stay up and watch this. I’ll likely watch the women’s match as well as the tag titles bout the next morning and skip through the rest of the card.

One thought on “WWE Hell in a Cell 2016 Preview and Predictions

  1. Pingback: This Week in Wrestling 2016 week 45 | Ring the Damn Bell

Leave a Reply

