WWE Survivor Series 2016 Preview and Predictions

survivor-series-2016

Brian Damage, Russ Morgan, Jamie Lithgow and Craig Wilson

Tonight the WWE hosts Survivor Series, headlined by Brock Lesnar locking up with Goldberg. Elsewhere, Raw takes on Smackdown in a series of bouts. All the tag teams are in action in a five team vs. five team bout, the respective women’s divisions clash as do the main eventers whist the IC and Cruiserweight titles are also on the line. Today on the blog the team preview and predict how the event play pan out.

10-on-10 Survivor Series Tag Team Elimination Match
Team Raw (The New Day (Big E and/or Kofi Kingston and/or Xavier Woods), Sheamus and Cesaro, Luke Gallows and Karl Anderson, Enzo Amore and Big Cass, and The Shining Stars (Primo and Epico)) vs. Team SmackDown (Heath Slater and Rhyno, The Hype Bros (Zack Ryder and Mojo Rawley), American Alpha (Jason Jordan and Chad Gable), The Usos (Jimmy Uso and Jey Uso), and Breezango (Tyler Breeze and Fandango))

Brian: This could very well be a glorious train wreck of a match, but with that said, I am very much looking forward to it. My best guess is the winners will be from Team Smackdown.
Winners: Team Smackdown

Russ: This is going to be either amazing or rubbish. Raw has the strong team on paper, but I can’t see them winning all the SS matches.

Winners: Team Smackdown

Jamie: When someone gets pinned does their tag partner also get eliminated, like in the ten-man tag matches of old? If not, then we’re looking at a minimum of ten decisions…. minimum! Anyway, my feeling is that this will either be amazing or a complete clusterfuck, there’s no middle ground here. While Raw have the top tag team, Smackdown has the best tag division. Hmmmm

Winners: Team Raw (The New Day survive)

Craig: I’m looking forward to this one. Sure, it could be a clusterfuck of a bout but nonetheless I still anticipate it having an element of fun. There’s some good teams in this, as you’d expect, and that should, at the very worst, carry this to a semi-decent match-up. This is also one of the bouts I see Smackdown triumphing in, don’t be surprised if we see American Alpha coming off this looking even stronger.

Winners: Team Smackdown

Singles match for the WWE Intercontinental Championship; if Zayn wins, the title will transfer to Raw
The Miz (c) (with Maryse) vs. Sami Zayn

Brian: I get the fact that they wanted to make the 900th episode of Smackdown unpredictable by having the Miz regain the IC title. It does, in my opinion, hurt what would have been a stellar match between Sami Zayn and Dolph Ziggler. I think the Miz retains based simply on the fact that the WWE just aired a commercial for a house show in my area pitting Miz defending the IC title against Ziggler in a steel cage.

Winner: The Miz

Russ: Strange that Ziggler lost the title to Miz on the 900th episode of Smackdown. Zayn being the underdog suits him, but I really don’t see him winning the title here. Maryse might get involved.

Winner: Miz

Jamie: There are two matches with this stipulation, so surely one will result in a championship moving show? However, I’m inclined to believe that if one title moves then so will the other to redress the balance. The fact that Miz just won the title also alludes to him being a transitional champion…

Winner, and new IC Champion: Sami Zayn

Craig: I’m with Jamie on this, I see Zayn triumphing and taking home the IC title. I think it’s abundantly clear that the feud between Miz and Ziggler is done, I certainly don’t want to see it again. I don’t think that Smackdown needs as many titles as Raw and it wouldn’t necessarily be missed if Zayn takes it to Raw.

Winner, and new IC Champion: Sami Zayn.

5-on5 Survivor Series Elimination match
Team Raw (Charlotte Flair, Bayley, Nia Jax, Alicia Fox, and Sasha Banks) (with Dana Brooke) vs. Team SmackDown (Nikki Bella, Becky Lynch, Alexa Bliss, Carmella, and Naomi) (with Natalya)

Brian: Considering that Charlotte has this undefeated pay per view “streak” going and the fact that the Raw women’s division is much stronger, I see the women of Raw winning this.

Winners: Team Raw

Russ: I don’t really know, but the Raw team looks stronger to me and based on that, they win.

Winners: Team Raw

Jamie: The Raw women’s division is just better. Put it this way, Becky Lynch is Smackdown’s top female, but I’d place her third or fourth in the company.

Winners: Team Raw (Charlotte, Sasha and Bayley survive)

Craig: Yeah Raw is winning this and not just because the Smackdown women ended this week on top. As Jamie alludes, the Raw women’s division is much stronger. I’d probably agree with Jamie’s survivors in this one, too.

Winners: Raw

Singles match for the WWE Cruiserweight Championship; if Kalisto wins, the title and the cruiserweight division will transfer to SmackDown
The Brian Kendrick (c) vs. Kalisto

Brian: Could be a good match, but I think the crowd will once again be dead for it. The cruiserweight title SHOULD be on Smackdown so I am going out on a limb and guessing that Kalisto will pull out the title win.

Winner: Kalisto

Russ: Makes all the sense in the world for the Cruiserweights to be on Smackdown. On the other hand, I don’t want to see Kendrick lose the match. I really like where he is going with his character, but I think in the grander scheme of things, Kalisto wins.

Winner: Kalisto

Jamie: Everyone knows the Cruiserweight Title belongs on Smackdown and Kalisto would make a good choice as champion from a business standpoint. He’s an established superstar, popular with kids, speaks a couple of languages and is also very good in the ring. This sounds like a tough deal for Kendrick, but think of the heat he could get from Stephanie and Raw for losing the belt? This could be a good thing all round.

Winner, and new Cruiserweight Champion: Kalisto

Craig: This is staggeringly obvious, right? The 205 Live is going to be recorded post-Smackdown so it makes sense for the guys to be on the Smackdown roster. Plus, Smackdown is the place where the ones you least expect get over and that’s where they need to be.

Winner: Kalisto.

5-on5 Survivor Series Elimination match
Team Raw (Kevin Owens, Chris Jericho, Roman Reigns, Braun Strowman, and Seth Rollins) vs. Team SmackDown (AJ Styles, Dean Ambrose, Bray Wyatt, Randy Orton, and Shane McMahon) (with James Ellsworth)

Brian: I think this may be the traditional Survivor Series match of the night! I think it will be really good considering the talent involved with it. My prediction is that Team Smackdown will survive and win.

Winners: Team Smackdown

Russ: Raw should win this as they have all the key players. I think that if Ellsworth gets involved, he will cost Smackdown. It wouldn’t surprise me if someone turned on their team at some point. Should be a great match.

Winner: Team Raw

Jamie: With the jury still out regarding the tag team’s match, this is poised to be the best match of the night. Given that it’s very clearly still the “B show” I reckon Smackdown will go over, but probably after Team Raw implode.

Winners: Team Smackdown (Dean Ambrose survives)

Craig: I’ve enjoyed that the WWE have transitioned this as a de facto babyfaces (Smackdown) vs. heels (Raw) battle. This week’s episode of Raw ended with, after a battle between both sides, the red team’s group of superstars standing tall. Don’t be too surprised if the result is the otherway around tonight. The interesting dynamic will be what role AJ Styles plays in his team’s success. Does he have a positive or negative influence in the final result?

Winners: Team Smackdown.

Brock Lesnar (with Paul Heyman) vs. Goldberg

Brian: To be perfectly honest, this match wasn’t that good 14 years ago and I don’t see it being any better now. Look for Brock Lesnar to dominate and win the match.

Winner: Brock Lesnar

Russ: The match that everybody and nobody wants to see. Going forward, it serves zero purpose for Lesnar to win. There is no one in the company “capable” of beating Lesnar one-on-one, he is due a loss at some point and why not it be to Goldberg. Yes Bill is nearly 50, but he is still a tank and it would be nice for him to actually give a shit and try to put on a performance.

Winner: Goldberg

Jamie: Fantasy warfare, eh? Not my fantasies. I’m not interested and I’m 100% sure Lesnar will win.

Winner: Brock Lesnar

Craig: Not for one second do I see Goldberg winning this, nor do I see this going on last to be honest. The “fantasy warfare” applies least to this match for me. Never was a WCW fan of any note so Golderg doesn’t do much for me and nor, really, does Brock Lesnar. Don’t care for this one or its outcome to be honest.

Winner: Brock Lesnar

Overall:

Brian: I think the show will be pretty good. The traditionally wild Toronto crowd should help out a lot. Survivor Series of the past have always been known to throw a surprise or two into the show. Whether it was Sting returning, the Shield debuting etc. I see the same thing happening in this. Although I have no clue what that surprise may be.

Russ: I’m really happy to see Survivor Series being taken seriously as one of the top 4 PPV’s. Bringing back the classic format is great and something that has been lacking for quite a few years. I’m actually looking forward to it.

Jamie: I’ve not seen the last few PPVs due to lack of interest, but the traditional Survivor Series format has me intrigued. In my opinion, it is too early for Raw vs. Smackdown matches, but just because it would be more interesting next year doesn’t mean it’s still not a little interesting this. No doubt the event will last an hour longer than it should, so I guess I’ll just read about the Lesnar match instead of waste my time watching it.

Craig: The traditional survivor series matches interest me and I’ll certainly watch them. Like most, haven’t bought into the Raw vs. Smackdown hype in the slightest – far too early for all that – and the Goldberg vs. Brock Lesnar bout does nothing for me. Still, I’ll watch much of the rest of the card and see how it all holds up.

One thought on “WWE Survivor Series 2016 Preview and Predictions

  1. Pingback: This Week in Wrestling 2016 week 48 | Ring the Damn Bell

Leave a Reply

