WWE TLC 2016 Preview & Predictions

tlc-2016

Brian Damage and Craig Wilson

Tonight the WWE hosts ‘Tables, Ladders and Chairs 2016’, the annual weapons heavy PPV. It’s Smackdown Live that is in the hot seat tonight with the tag, women’s, IC and WWE title all on the line in gimmick heavy bouts. As is tradition, today we share our preview and predictions ahead of the show.

SmackDown Women’s Championship Tables Match: Alexa Bliss vs. Becky Lynch

Brian: This, in my opinion, could be very good, believe it or not. I think Alexa Bliss is a bit underrated as a performer and, of course, we all know how good Lynch is. Since it is a tables match and not a regular one on one encounter. I think that leaves the door open for something screwy to happen.

Winner: Alexa Bliss

Craig: I’m with Brian, I think this could be pretty good, too. I’m a big fan of Becky Lynch and Alexa Bliss is really growing on me as a performer, she’s undoubtedly become one of the ones to watch on Smackdown live. I think the WWE is rightly pretty high on Becky too and I see her retaining. With the women’s title on Raw changing hands so regularly, I can’t see them doing the same on the blue brand.

Winner: Becky

SmackDown Tag Team Championship Match: Heath Slater and Rhyno vs. Randy Orton & Bray Wyatt

Brian: I think it is obvious that Randy Orton will turn on Bray Wyatt in the near future. It might be at TLC, but if not I see the Wyatt family winning the tag titles.

Winners: Bray Wyatt and Randy Orton

Craig: I’ve loved ‘Beauty and the Man Beast’ as a tag team championship pairing as much, really, as I dug the Slater shtick around the brand split. However, sometimes it’s good to go out when fans are demanding more, rather than outstaying the welcome. Based on that, I see the Wyatts taking home the gold in this one.

Winners, and new tag team champions: Randy Orton & Bray Wyatt.

Baron Corbin vs. Kalisto in a chairs match

Brian: I guess they are trying to book Kalisto as a modern-day Rey Mysterio aka a giant killer. Considering the fact that chairs are involved, I see Kalisto getting the victory here.

Winner: Kalisto

Craig: The programme between this pair has done nothing for me, nothing whatsoever. It’s the classic underdog stuff as Corbin constantly overpowers his smaller opponent. This is the pay-off, isn’t it? This is when Kalisto gets his revenge and shocks his opponent on the big stage, right?

Winner: Kalisto

No Disqualification Match: Nikki Bella vs. Carmella

Brian: I really had no idea this feud was still going on. I guess that tells you how uninterested I am in it.

Winner: Nikki Bella

Craig: This is something I tend to fast forward through during Smackdown. I saw Carmella tweet something the other day suggesting that Nikki ‘potatoed’ her during their brawl the other night, that struck me as desperately trying, and failing, to generate some sort of interest in this. Did nothing for me…

Winner: Those needing the toilet.

WWE Intercontinental Title Ladder Match: The Miz vs. Dolph Ziggler

Brian: This could be a really solid match with lots of interference from Maryse and the Spirit Squad. Poor Ziggler, he just isn’t meant to be a long-term champion in the WWE I guess.

Winner: The Miz

Craig: Christ on a bike, how often are we going to see this bout?! It is the endless battles between this pair that leaves me thinking: “here, maybe there isn’t enough talent for a brand split after all.” Whatever the outcome, I hope it is clean and puts this one to bed. Tragically, I suspect Maryse and/or the Spirit Squad will involve themselves in it.

Winner: The Miz

WWE World Championship TLC Match: Dean Ambrose vs. AJ Styles

Brian: Another potentially great match. AJ Styles and Ambrose have worked well together and I see the same in this contest. Of course, Ellsworth will get involved and somehow screw up leading to an AJ Styles victory.

Winner: AJ Styles

Craig: Yeah, I’m totally with Brian. This will be a good bout but Ellsworth will interject himself and cost Ambrose the win. I’ve not much confidence that a programme with Ellsworth is what Ambrose needs right now, but Styles will leave with the gold.

Winner: AJ Styles

Overall thoughts

Brian: I don’t think this will be a bad show, Smackdown has been pretty solid presenting their shows whether Smackdown or pay per views. I did notice that I picked mostly heels winning at TLC, so I am probably waaaay off in my predictions. We shall see.

Craig: Again, Smackdown Live produces another show that, on paper at least, looks very strong. There is plenty of worthy stuff on this show. Unmissable? No. And I’ve never been a fan of these gimmick match heavy shows. But there’s a lot on here that I want to watch and will definitely make sure I see.

2 thoughts on “WWE TLC 2016 Preview & Predictions

  1. My picks:

    1. Alexa Bliss–will be a good match, AB takes home the title.
    2. Orton and Wyatt–new champs, finally WWE gives a bit of gold to Windham Rotunda.
    3. Kalisto–please let this be the final match between this two. I’d rather watch paint dry.
    4. Carmella–that legit black eye Carmella sports will add fuel to the match.
    5. Miz–enough with this crap already.
    6. Styles–keeps the belt, James Ellsworth turns heel.

    Like

  2. Pingback: This Week in Wrestling 2016 week 50 | Ring the Damn Bell

Leave a Reply

