WWE Roadblock: End of the Line 2016 Preview and Predictions

roadblock-end-of-the-line

Russ Morgan, Brian Damage, Earl Marx and Craig Wilson

Tonight the WWE holds its final PPV of the year with the WWE Raw brand ‘Roadblock: End of the Line’. Today on the blog we preview the show, headlined by Roman Reigns challenging WWE Universal Champion Kevin Owens. We’re also delighted to be joined for the first time by Earl Marx of ‘Changing the Questions‘ fame.

Kick-off Match: Big Cass vs. Rusev

Russ: Tough to call as I think Rusev needs to be kept strong, whilst Enzo and Cass are over anyway. Would be interesting to see Cass take a fall.

Winner: Rusev

Brian: I think this match could go either way. Considering that Rusev has been getting the upper hand in this feud thus far…I guess Big Cass will get the nod.

Winner: Big Cass

Earl: A shame Rusev is on the pre-show. I am a fan of his work and I had a feeling the feud with Roman would not serve him well. He wasn’t really a factor in anything at Survivor Series, so I think this should give him a jolt. I know Big Cass has a bright future but keeping Rusev looking strong has been WWE’s plan for the last few years. Let’s not stop now.

Winner: Rusev

Craig: Earl’s onto a point about the feud with Reigns not serving Rusev well but am not convinced his cuckold shtick has helped him in the slightest either… So here we are, the one that Vince reportedly likes from Enzo & Big Cass vs. a struggling Rusev. Does anyone really care about this? I don’t.

Winner: Big Cass

Ten Minute Time Limit: Sami Zayn vs. Braun Strowman

Russ: Strowman wins in a decent squash match

Winner: Braun Strowman

Brian: I think Sami Zayn goes the distance in this match and then Strowman goes off on him afterwards.

Winner: A Time Limit Draw

Earl: Can’t say I know what the point of the 10-min time limit is. Something must be coming with the end of the finish that involves the time limit. I’ve been waiting for them to kick-start a good program for Sami and this appears to benefit both him and Braun. I get the feeling Sami is going to be built as an underdog. Can’t see him getting the win here, but the dramatic fashion of the loss should elicit sympathy from us. What that means is that I expect Sami to get the snot beat out of him, but survive the time limit.

Winner: Braun Strowman

Craig: Yeah, Sami Zayn is on the wrong show. Had he been on Smackdown Live, Zayn would be an important part of the roster but instead he’s on Raw and is likely to get the piss beaten out of him here and, at best, somehow survive to the end of the time limit.

Winner, of sorts: Sami Zayn

Thirty-Minute RAW Women’s Title Iron Man Match: Charlotte Flair vs. Sasha Banks

Russ: 30 mins we will never get back. Charlotte will win this and Banks will move onto something else.

Winner: Charlotte Flair

Brian: I think this will be yet another stellar match between these two women. I don’t think Charlotte loses on a pay per view, so I see Charlotte becoming a four-time champion. I wouldn’t be shocked if Ric Flair interferes on behalf of his daughter again.

Winner: Charlotte Flair

Earl: I am going to peg this one as my match of the night. For me, I tend to think the Sasha/Char matches are hit or miss. Sometimes, the stipulation does not serve them well. This is a one on one match with no needs for a certain amount of violence. This works in their favor. I tend to be wrong about my predictions about these two, so it’s a toss up to me. With that in mind, I’ll go with Char’s ppv winning streak continuing.

Winner: NEW champ, Charlotte

Craig: I hope beyond anything that Sasha retains here. The women’s title has changed so often in recent months, it needs stability for a change to actually mean something. The feud between this pair works for me and both women but it hurts the title with such frequent changes.

Winner: Sasha

WWE Cruiserweight Title Match: Rich Swann vs. TJ Perkins vs. Brian Kendrick

Russ: I love Brian Kendrick, but I think Rich Swann might go over here.

Winner: Rich Swann

Brian: The cruiserweights need some stability and I think they should keep the title around Rich Swann’s waist. It’ll be a good match, but I fear the crowd will be silent for it like they have been from day one.

Winner: Rich Swann

Earl: With the inception and push of 205 Live, we are FINALLY beginning to get legit reasons to care about cruiserweight matches. I can’t say I terribly care about the mix of competitors, but I SEE how we got here. I think TJP should have never given up the title so easily, but I can see by Kendrick needed to get it. In this case, I think my guy TJP doesn’t get it done….and neither does Kendrick. Let’s keep the title on Swann and see where we go from here.

Winner: STILL Cruiserweight Champion Rich Swann (although I have a high level of disdain for the naming scheme “The Outlandish”)

Craig: Like the women’s title, the cruiserweight belt can’t continue to change hands regularly. Swann needs a lengthy reign with the gold and needs to win this one. I hope he does…

Winner: Swann

RAW Tag Team Title Match: Cesaro and Sheamus vs. The New Day

Russ: Should be a decent match, but I think New Day will continue their run.

Winner: The New Day

Brian: Now that the New Day have broken Demolition’s tag team title reign record…what else is left for them to do? Look for Sheamus and Cesaro to win the tag team titles.

Winners: Cesaro and Sheamus

Earl: Huuuh. I am a New Day fan. I really am. I have just grown to a point where I’d like to see some other teams and feuds for the tag titles. For this to happen, New Day needs to drop the titles. I have been predicting they would drop the titles and I have been wrong every time. Why go against the grain this time? I do think they will drop soon, but I am not sure if Cesaro and Sheamus are the duo to do it (unless the plan is to keep them together long term which is a waste of talent to me)

Winner: STILL Raw Tag Team Champions New Day

Craig: There isn’t much gas left in the tank of the New Day title reign. As Brian states, they have beaten Demolition’s record so what is left for them to do? Not too much. But I just don’t see Cesaro and Sheamus as the team to lose the gold to. The Cesaro and Sheamus team is growing on me, there’s no doubt about that, but they aren’t there just yet.

Winner: New Day.

Seth Rollins vs. Chris Jericho

Russ: I think Jericho might lose this to continue the breakdown of his relationship with KO. I expect Owens to get involved at some point.

Winner: Seth Rollins

Brian: I am loving all the Chris Jericho stuff the past few months. He has certainly been one of the most entertaining things about Raw. With that said, I don’t see Jericho victorious in this match…as they push Seth Rollins and the top babyface.

Winner: Seth Rollins

Earl: I feel like I’ve seen this match rather recently. Wasn’t it on a Raw not too long ago? Can’t say I am excited because Seth’s logic about why he needs this match just…doesn’t sit well with me. If this is Seth’s Road to Triple H AKA Seth’s Road to WrestleMania 33, then I believe he gets the win here.

Winner: Seth Rollins

Craig: Is the outcome of this one even up for debate? Jericho has been hugely entertaining, perhaps as good as  he’s ever been, but it’s Rollins that’s going over here. He needs the ‘big mo’ desperately to get him ready for WrestleMania. A bit of rub from Jericho will help.

Winner: Seth Rollins.

WWE Universal Title Match: Roman Reigns vs. Kevin Owens

Russ: I think Kevin Owens will be champ going into 2017. This is a decent feud, but I’m just fed up to the teeth with Reigns right now.

Winner: Kevin Owens

Brian: I see no conceivable way that Roman Reigns becomes WWE Universal champion. Kevin Owens hasn’t exactly been on fire lately and I think he retains here in some sort of screw job finish.

Winner: Kevin Owens

Earl: I might be in a minority here, but I do not like this match up. I haven’t liked it any time they’ve gotten together. I hope they will give us something different than past encounters. Roman will not be made a loser as he seems to have regained favor with the front office. I don’t see a need to move the title from Owens unless the plan is Roman vs Balor at WM33. I say we go with Roman losing, but remember – he’s the New Era’s Cena…even if he loses, he wins in some way. In this case, it will be the fact that he will still lug around that one title he has that he defends on a weekly basis.

Winner: STILL Universal Champion Kevin Owens

Craig: Fans will absolutely lose their shit tomorrow night if Roman Reigns leaves with the Universal Championship. Thankfully, then, for them, I see absolutely no way that Owens leaves without his title. That’s a good thing. The only negative will be how likely it is that the finish won’t be clean.

Winner: Kevin Owens.

Overall thoughts

Russ: A bit meh for me, I don’t think I will be watching live.

Brian: I am not particularly excited for this card. The Women’s match should be great and the cruiserweight match might be good but overall it seems to be a very bland show on paper.

Earl: I feel like this ppv has potential to do good, but I will not get my hopes up too much. The line-up somewhat feels like a pretty good Raw episode. Then again, how many matches here have we seen on Raw in the last month or two? Just saying…

Craig: This isn’t too bad a show and, on paper, one of the strongest Raw shows since the brand split. Last week’s Raw was pretty solid and built well towards this and makes me want to see it. I agree with Earl’s point, nothing is brand new but there’s still some decent stuff to see here.

3 thoughts on “WWE Roadblock: End of the Line 2016 Preview and Predictions

  1. 1. Colin Cassidy
    2. Time-limit draw in Zayn-Strowman match
    3. Charlotte Flair
    4. Rich Swann
    5. The New Day
    6. Seth Rollins
    7. Kevin Owens

    Like

  2. Pingback: This Week in Wrestling 2016 week 52 | Ring the Damn Bell

Leave a Reply

