WWE Extreme Rules 2017 Preview and Predictions

Brian Damage, Benjamin Trecroci and Earl Marx

The WWE PPVs are certainly coming thick and fast at the moment. Tonight, the company hosts the Raw exclusive ‘Extreme Rules’ 2017 show, headlined by a fatal five-way to determine the number one contender to Brock Lesnar’s Universal Title. Today the team predict and preview that match and all the others on the show.

Singles match for the WWE Intercontinental Championship
Dean Ambrose (c) vs. The Miz (with Maryse)

Brian: I don’t see Dean Ambrose retaining in this match at all. Look for the Drifter Elias Sampson to get involved somehow and get Ambrose disqualified therefore losing the IC title to the Miz.

Winner: The Miz

Benjamin: They seem to be making too much out of this “DQ title change” thing for it not to be a title change. Of course, a title change over a DQ taking place on an Extreme PPV is a whole another story. Miz needs that title back, his switch to Raw has been a bit shaky.

Winner: The Miz

Earl: I know the stipulation is there. It’s not a bad one but it’s not one of my favorite ones to see implemented. So if Dean eats the DQ, he loses the title? Hmmm. I think Dean’s reign has gone on long enough. It’s not to say I am not an Ambrose fan, but he comes off as a guy with the belt and not necessarily a champion. He did when the triple threat match to determine contendership was made, but as of late, he’s somewhat sunk into his usual self. Good, but not great.

Winner: And New Intercontinental Champion, The Miz

Kendo Stick-on-a-Pole match for the WWE Raw Women’s Championship
Alexa Bliss (c) vs. Bayley

Brian: While I appreciate the WWE finding new ways to incorporate women into different styles of matches, I don’t think this will be any good. I hope I am wrong because I like both Alexa Bliss and Bayley. It seems that Bliss is Vince McMahon’s flavor of the month right now.

Winner: Alexa Bliss

Benjamin: Not sure if seeing Bayley “snapping” is the best idea for her. Have a feeling that will be her undoing but will lead to Alexa getting over on her and keeping her title on her shoulder. Not real sure what is going on with the women’s division on Raw but it’s kind of a mess.

Winner: Alexa Bliss

Earl: Alexa is in this match, so I think we all win for this right??? Her work as of late has been winning all around for me. I just don’t think it should stop now, as Bayley was quite bland to me as champ. Let’s see what’s next for Alexa.

Winner: Alexa Bliss

Tag team Steel Cage match for the WWE Raw Tag Team Championship
The Hardy Boyz (Matt Hardy and Jeff Hardy) (c) vs. Cesaro and Sheamus

Brian: I promise, I won’t predict the Hardy Boyz will finally become “Broken” after this match because, quite frankly, I don’t think McMahon wants them to be. What I do see is Sheamus and Cesaro recapturing the Raw tag team belts inside of a steel cage.

Winners: Cesaro and Sheamus

Benjamin: This has to be the time to see Cesaro and Sheamus grab the titles, feels like they’ve faced each other in every combination possible so it’s time to move on. Maybe The Revival gets involved or possibly The Club.

Winner: Sheamus and Cesaro

Earl: I actually have pretty high hopes for these guys. Their singles matches tend to be solid and it seems like we have more of a fleshed out story between the two teams. Although I do like the heel turn of Cesaro and Sheamus (not a fan of the whole “The Bar” thing they’ve got going), I don’t think they take the titles off of the Hardys here. And for those interested, I don’t think Maffew will succumb to his “broken-ness” here.

Winner: The Hardy Boyz

Mixed tag team match
Rich Swann and Sasha Banks vs. Noam Dar and Alicia Fox

Brian: How sad to see such a talent like Sasha Banks wasted in such a meaningless feud and even more meaningless match. I suspect this will be a pre-show kickoff match and if it isn’t it should be unless it will be used to let the crowd rest between matches they will actually care about.

Winners: Rich Swann and Sasha Banks

Benjamin: Not sure if Sasha is being punished or something but no offense to these other people in this match, but this is so beneath her. Hope this is just a one-time thing or some tough love from Vince because Sasha needs to get involved with Alexa.

Winner: Swann and Sasha

Earl: Most cards tend to have some match it’s hard to care about. This match is that match. My rule tends to be simple – whenever I don’t care about the match, go with the face(s).

Winner: Rich Swann and Sasha Banks

Submission match for the WWE Cruiserweight Championship
Neville (c) vs. Austin Aries

Brian: These two men have had some pretty good matches the last two times around. It’ll be interesting to see how the fans will respond to a cruiserweight match where submissions are the keys to winning instead of high flying moves. Don’t get me wrong, Aries and Neville are tremendous wrestlers, I just don’t think fans will care.

Winner: Austin Aries

Benjamin: This 205 Live is not at ECW/WWE level but it’s not too far behind. Ratings have been terrible and the crowds have checked out. Huge fan of both guys and they will put on another great match and maybe a big win by Aries will get this division going.

Winners: Austin Aries

Earl: I’m going with low expectations on this one, even though the talent is there. I tend to think, for a match like this, the crowd is going to be a HUGE factor in determining the perception of this. Will they do a high flying match and sprinkle in a submission finish? Will they go against the grain and show another mat-based, technical side of the cruiserweights? Using my wrestling logic to determine the winner, I just don’t see Austin Aries NOT leaving with the gold here.

Winner: And New Cruiserweight Champion, Austin Aries

Roman Reigns vs. Seth Rollins vs. Finn Bálor vs. Bray Wyatt vs. Samoa Joe

Brian: This could be and should be the match quality wise of the night. I think I made a mistake by reading online that Bray Wyatt is scheduled to face Brock Lesnar on an upcoming edition of Raw for the Universal Championship. So while I want to pick Finn Balor to win, it will probably be Bray which is fine too.

Winner: Bray Wyatt

Benjamin: This is a tough one to figure out. Feel like it will be anyone but Reigns because they are saving Lesnar vs. Reigns for later. Balor would be the easy choice because he’s never lost his title but don’t really want to see Balor get fed to Lesnar. Rollins and Lesnar have unfinished business from two years ago s that would be a huge win for Rollins. Samoa Joe has picked up some big wins lately, but he really doesn’t have much of a story with no Triple H and now that Kevin Owens is on SD Live so not sure if they are all the way in on him. See Bray Wyatt coming out of this, because sadly losing to Lesnar will not be that big of a deal.

Winner: Bray Wyatt

Earl: I am heavily anticipating this match. Almost salivating, to be honest. I don’t think it was the initial plan to have this match, but I am happy we are here. I expect for them to tear it down. There are so many different ways to go with this match, but I will say that I don’t see a heel winning it. That only leaves us with 3 choices. I think Roman has to wait. That leaves Finn and Seth. I think we get a swerve. Going with my boy Seth to win this one. PS – I look to see feuds with Reigns/Joe and Bray and Finn come out of this match

Winner: Seth Rollins

Overall:

Brian: I have never been a fan of the WWE’s gimmick shows that have anything to do with “Extreme” because 9 out of 10 times they are nothing close to that. With that said though, this show might not be all that bad. I am not excited for it but it may be decent. We shall see…

Benjamin: They probably should drop this whole “Extreme” thing, because let’s get serious nothing is extreme in this PG World. Should be a decent to good show, just feel that ever since the ill-advised “Superstar Shakeup” Raw and Smackdown have been sort of disjointed for a number of reasons and it shows during the build for this event.

Earl: Believe it or not, I actually have higher hopes for this one than I did Backlash. It can be argued this is a one match show, but I do expect some solid in-ring action from Miz/Ambrose, Hardyz/Cesaro and Sheamus, and even the Submission match between the cruiserweights. I actually haven’t found Raw to be too much of a drain to watch in the last couple of weeks, so I’m ready for this one!

One thought on “WWE Extreme Rules 2017 Preview and Predictions

  1. Pingback: This Week in Wrestling 2017 week 23 | Ring the Damn Bell

Leave a Reply

