WWE Great Balls of Fire Preview and Predictions

Brian Damage and Earl Marx

Tonight, for the first time, WWE hosts their ‘Great Balls of Fire’ PPV, a show headlined by WWE Universal Champion Brock Lesnar putting his title on the line against Samoa Joe. Today on the blog Brian Damage and Earl Marx preview the show and give their predictions.

WWE Cruiserweight Championship Kickoff Show Match: Akira Tozawa vs. Neville

Brian: This could be a decent match, sadly I don’t think anybody will really care. The big question I have now is, if Tozawa is with Titus O’Neil, does that make Tozawa a heel or a face?

Winner: Neville

Earl: Although Titus has become the mic for Tozawa, I don’t know if it is going to connect. Neville didn’t lose to the recently released Austin Aries (who I do think is more believable as a challenger than Tozawa). I just don’t see it stopping here. I don’t think Tozawa is the guy who is on the “Neville Level”. I will cheat here and say this – if there will be a title change at the PPV, I think it will be this one. Official predict is that the champ retains.

Winner: Neville

RAW Tag Team Championship 30-Minute Iron Man Match: The Hardys vs. Cesaro and Sheamus

Brian: These two teams have really stepped up the competition in the tag team division. I see another great match, probably with the same outcome as the previous two matches.

Winners: Sheamus and Cesaro

Earl: Ironman tag team match? Hmm. Can’t say this one is not intriguing. These guys tend to deliver a good match whenever they get the time. I just told a friend of mine that I keep noticing that it seems like Jeff keeps causing the Hardys to lose. If he does this time to, it might be another reason for Matt to go “broken”. Don’t see them winning though. Ha.

Winner: Sheamus and Cesaro (The Bar…Ugh)

RAW Women’s Championship Match: Sasha Banks vs. Alexa Bliss

Brian: It could be a decent match, but I realistically don’t see the Raw women’s title leaving Alexa Bliss anytime soon.

Winner: Alexa Bliss

Earl: I think anyone who is watching this match wins. Ha. Oh wait – I need to pick a winner? I can’t see a need or reason to get the title off Alexa and, out of all people, on to Sasha. I think Nia is waiting in the wings for one of these two. Specifically, I think Alexa has a date with Nia.

Winner: Alexa Bliss (probably with a sneaky win)

Enzo Amore vs. Big Cass

Brian: As Big Cass has said in his promos, he’s where the money is. Enzo will bounce around a bit and sell everything that Cass dishes out.

Winner: Big Cass

Earl: I do not find myself caring about this match. Yes – there was build up. Yes – Enzo seems to be tapping into his underdog. Yes – Enzo will likely get a huge pop. But no. Not for me. Not today, tomorrow, or any day as of right now. Let’s give Enzo a pretty big beatdown here to get revenge at Summerslam.

Winner: Big Cass

WWE Intercontinental Championship Match: Dean Ambrose vs. The Miz

Brian: A very predictable match in my opinion. There is no way Ambrose wins. Look for a lot of outside interference from Maryse and the Miztourage.

Winner: The Miz

Earl: Here’s the thing with this one. For the match, I am actually tired of it. We got it on SD Live and we’ve got it a few times on Raw so I don’t expect something new in the ring. I’ll just be darned if Miz is not doing some of the best work of his career. He really has made that IC title relevant and must see. I just don’t see Ambrose needing this IC title back anytime soon. I actually can see Balor and Miz mixing it up soon.

Winner: The Miz

Ambulance Match: Roman Reigns vs. Braun Strowman

Brian: I have to admit, this has been one highly entertaining feud with BOTH Strowman and Reigns making it that good. Reigns will go to SummerSlam the #1 contender so…

Winner: Roman Reigns

Earl: OOOOOOHHHHH YEEAAAAAAHHHH. This is the match I want to see. The build-up has been there. The physicality has been there. Can anyone believe that they first locked up at Fastlane? We’ve gotten this for five months yet I am not tired of it. Let’s get an incredibly physical match to send this feud off. I would like to think Braun will pull it off, but I don’t think so. I’m going with the Big Dawg. It’s his yard now. *Waits for the innernet to spontaneously combust*

Winner: Roman Reigns

Bray Wyatt vs. Seth Rollins

Brian: This feud, on the other hand, has done nothing for me at all. Rollins is stale as a face and Bray Wyatt just hasn’t found his groove on the Raw roster as of yet.

Winner: Seth Rollins

Earl: Though I am not necessarily sold on this feud for some reason, I am thinking we could get a solid 10 min match between these two. Seth is trying to be positioned as a huge face going forward and I think it will work. Because of this, we need some sympathy. I actually think Seth will show a valiant effort, but won’t overcome The Eater of Worlds

Winner: Bray Wyatt

WWE Universal Championship Match: Samoa Joe vs. Brock Lesnar

Brian: The WWE has done a pretty good job of selling this match. It has real potential to be pretty damn good. I expect a lot of stiff shots from both Joe and Lesnar.

Winner: Brock Lesnar

Earl: I.Want.Blood. I .Want.A.Fight. I want this to be understood – I do not want a technical match here. I want a fight. I want some stiff shots. I want some nasty suplexes. I want some chokes. I want so much. Haha. Will I get it? I really hope so. The winner should be fairly obvious but I am OH SO INTERESTED in how they pull it off. I think Brock cleanly goes over Joe.

Winner: Brock Lesnar

Overall:

Brian: To be honest, I had totally forgotten that this show was on this Sunday. With that said though, there are a couple of intriguing matches but nothing to rush to see.

Earl: If the name of this PPV was different, if only this could be the case, I take it Rocket League pay a hell of a lot to WWE to get them to name a PPV after them. Ha! But jokes aside, I actually don’t think this PPV is too bad on paper nor have the build ups been too bad. Do I expect a red-hot show? No, but I don’t think this one will be a wash. Four to five matches are actually interesting too. Let’s get a hot show with some controversy to get us ready for Summerslam.

2 thoughts on “WWE Great Balls of Fire Preview and Predictions

  1. Pingback: This Week in Wrestling 2017 week 28 | Ring the Damn Bell

Leave a Reply

