Book or Cook? The Booking of Enzo Amore

Craig Wilson, Russ Morgan, Brian Damage and Earl Marx

The WWE roster is filled with “superstars” at every level. There are the main roster guys who regularly appear on Raw and SmackDown, those who are used as glorified jobbers and those who are barely used at all. In this series of pieces, we will take an individual wrestler barely used and decide if they are worth keeping or should they be let go. Today we decide if we Book or Cook Enzo Amore.

Craig: With Enzo and Big Cass now split up and the trajectory, based on his size, of Big Cass likely to be of an upward direction, it leaves questions regarding Enzo Amore.

Talented on the mic, of that there is little doubt, but question marks have always hung over his ability inside the squared circle. But much of that was covered by his tag team pairing, allowing him to play the face in peril before Cass mounted the comeback.

However, now they have separated, what does the future hold for Amore? That is the focus of this latest Book or Cook as we decide whether he will stay or go and, if the latter, in what direction.

Russ: Poor Enzo. He’s quite entertaining to be fair and his mike skills aren’t too shabby either. Unfortunately, I don’t think his ceiling is that high. He could make a living forming another tag team or being on 205 live, but other than that I just don’t see him going any further up the chain. The only other thing I would propose is Enzo being a manager, sort of in the Elsworth style, just not a complete fool.

Craig: I’d previously agreed with the manager bit. In fact, I’d assumed the WWE would have transitioned him to actually being Big Cass’ manager. Obviously, they’ve opted to go a different route with the pair and while Cass will be happy enough with that outcome, I can’t imagine Enzo feels the same way. I really, really can’t see any way of Amore making it as a singles superstar. I just don’t think he has anything close to the overall package required to do that. Or am I just being harsh?

Brian: You’re not being harsh at all, the fact is while Enzo Amore can get by with his abilities on the mic, he is pretty sloppy inside the ring. The big money really is with a guy like Big Cass who has the size and the look McMahon covets. I mean does anybody think he could compete for say the Intercontinental title realistically?

Truth be told, the promos between the Miz and Enzo would be highly entertaining but other than that, what could an actual match offer? Enzo could have his own WWE show on the network, he could manage, could be a color commentator but a wrestler? I just don’t see a long shelf life for him.

Earl: Hmm. I am really at a loss here. I feel like there is a large part of me that is SUPPOSED to believe that Enzo is going to be this HUGE breakout star. He’s got this unique look, he was the mouthpiece. I am supposed to feel better about this. So why don’t I? Why do I feel like Enzo is some sick manifestation of some higher ups desire to see him thrown around? When Enzo and Cass first debuted, I tried not to put a ceiling on Enzo, but it became apparent something was up whenever Enzo would run his mouth and Cass would do the fight. How am I, a wrestling fan, supposed to support a character who can’t fight his own battles? Am I to believe he will “Hulk Up” or find his inner fighter and overcome? I don’t believe so.

My vote is to reluctantly cook. I just don’t know how much further I see this thing going. I know I have seen suggestions of 205 Live and that might be best. That brand needs unique characters, but I don’t know how likely that is to happen. I agree that a managerial role may be best. When I see him, I don’t see a solo star. I see a midcard act at best and there is nothing wrong with that. Every movie needs supporting characters and Enzo is one in the WWE Universe. Let’s cook this guy. And, for what it’s worth at this point in time, I don’t even know if I see the brightest future for Kevin Nash Jr. AKA Big Cass, but hey, who knows?

Craig: I’m a reluctant cook as well. Brian is right, he could be a colour commentator or have his own show on the WWE Network but is there really space or demand for either? Am not sure. I can’t see him bouncing back in the ring. That’s him lost in a fairly short time to Big Cass in their PPV payoff match so it’ll be interesting to see what happens now for him but it’s a cook or me.

Brian: I am with you, a cook for me as well. I think Enzo has talent, but not in the ring as much as on the mic. Give this man a talk show of some sort.

There’s our take on the future of Enzo Amore. What do you think? Vote in our poll below and leave a comment to share your views.


You can read all previous ‘Book or Cook?’ pieces here.


2 thoughts on “Book or Cook? The Booking of Enzo Amore

  1. Apartt from Enzo being a Jimmy Hart/Downtown Bruno/Brandon Baxter type of manager, I don’t see too much for him to do. Being a backstage interviewer will wear thin after a while.

    Like

  2. Pingback: This Week in Wrestling 2017 week 28 | Ring the Damn Bell

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.