This Week in Wrestling 2017 week 38

https://ringthedamnbell.wordpress.com/

Craig Wilson and Brian Damage

It’s Saturday so time for the latest instalment of ’This Week in Wrestling’. Today, in part 38, Craig and Brian predict ‘No Mercy 2017’ while Brian shares all the best viral content he’s stumbled upon this week. 



No Mercy 2017 Preview & Predictions
Craig & Brian

Tomorrow night, the WWE hosts the Raw exclusive ‘No Mercy’ PPV. As ever, all the brand’s titles are on the line – headlined by Braun Strowman trying to wrestle the Universal Title away from Brock Lesnar. Today, Craig and Brian predict and preview the show.

WWE Intercontinental Championship Match: Jason Jordan vs. The Miz

Brian: Jason Jordan is starting to come out of his shell and I am seeing real progress with his character. I just don’t see him winning the IC title here. What I do see is perhaps seeds being planted for a Jordan heel turn down the line.

Winner: The Miz

Craig: I’m hoping I’m not starting as I mean to go on by disagreeing with Brian but I think the Jason Jordan stuff is diabolical and is rightly getting the crowd reaction it deserves: virtually nothing. It would be a huge shame if The Miz was to drop this but the WWE seem hellbent on pushing Jordan, I’d be quite surprised if he didn’t leave No Mercy with the IC title.

Winner: Jason Jordan

RAW Women’s Championship Fatal 5 Way Match: Bayley vs. Sasha Banks vs. Nia Jax vs. Emma vs. Alexa Bliss

Brian: Is it wrong to be rooting for Emma to shock everyone and win the title here? Probably, so I guess since Alexa Bliss has been plastered all over the advertising of this event, look for Bliss to win and retain.

Winner: Alexa Bliss

Craig: Alexa Bliss is the best talent in this match and thoroughly deserves to go over and probably will.

Winner: Bliss.

RAW Tag Team Championship Match: Cesaro and Sheamus vs. Dean Ambrose and Seth Rollins

Brian: I don’t see any way that Sheamus and Cesaro will win the tag team titles. This should still be a pretty good match if given time.

Winners: Dean Ambrose and Seth Rollins

Craig: I am very much looking forward to this one as I’m a big fan of both teams. Add in to the mix that they have come up against each other on numerous occasions now then they also have the chemistry to make this a standout match. Like Brian, I am hoping it is given time – a good 15 to 20 minutes – to allow the quartet to tell a good story. Can’t see the WWE bringing the reign of the 2/3 reformed Shield to an end just yet…right? Ambrose and Rollins to retain but there still to be some distance in this programme.

Winners: Dean Ambrose and Seth Rollins.

WWE Cruiserweight Championship Match: Enzo Amore vs. Neville

Brian: Oh, how the mighty have fallen! Enzo Amore at one point was a shoe in to win the Cruiserweight title. He was that over with the fans, nowadays, he is just on 205 Live to just be relevant. Neville is just too good as the ‘King of the Cruiserweights’ to lose it to Amore.

Winner: Neville

Craig: Christ, poor Enzo. It was clear that the WWE had the highest hopes for Big Cass but I didn’t think their expectations for his former partner were this low. As much as I enjoyed the Cruiserweight Classic, that enthusiasm hasn’t transferred to 205 Live and I’ve barely watched any of it – and the division’s booking on Raw hasn’t done much to make me revisit that decision. Not invested in this one and barely interested. Of the two, Neville is the most interesting but with it being the WWE, that’s not guarantee that he’ll retain but here’s hoping.

Winner: Neville.

Finn Balor vs. Bray Wyatt

Brian: I have no idea how to predict this match. On one hand, I say Finn Balor wins cleanly but on the other I say we see a return of the Wyatt family to help Bray win.

Winner: Bray Wyatt

Craig: The sooner that both superstars move on from this programme the better. Bray’s act is severely damaged at the moment and even a win here won’t benefit Balor that much as a result. That said, I expect him to do it but the biggie is not just what is next for Balor but also what the future holds for the tired act that is Wyatt.

Winner: Balor

WWE Universal Championship Match: Braun Strowman vs. Brock Lesnar

Brian: This will be a very good match I believe and as much as Strowman deserves the title, I don’t see it happening yet.

Winner: Brock Lesnar

Craig: I’m looking forward to this one. Strowman has been made to look a million bucks and Lesnar was at that level anyway. Won’t be many hip tosses and flying head scissors here. This’ll be a hard-hitting brawl. Part of me wonders if the WWE won’t just pull the trigger here on Strowman. The booking of him so far has been great but I don’t know where else they can really go without just going for it. I hope the WWE do just that.

Winner: Strowman.

Roman Reigns Vs. John Cena

Brian: This is indeed a WrestleMania match put on a secondary pay per view. Perhaps out of desperation but the promos and build up to this match has been so great, I am really looking forward to seeing it.

Winner: Roman Reigns

Craig: Well, this has star power… It’s also far to say that the storyline has been good although, what with Cena’s strength on the mic, it has shown up Reigns for his lack of ability. But hey, we’re here now. I wonder if this’ll be another passing of the torch attempt with the WWE: have Reigns win and have Cena disappear into the sunset, temporarily at least.

Overall thoughts:

Brian: I don’t see anything really special about this show other than Reigns/Cena and Brock/Braun. Hopefully those two matches do not disappoint because the rest of the card looks a little too predictable for me.

Craig: Like Brian, the Reigns/Cena and Strowman/Lesnar are must watch bouts and I’d also add the tag title match to the list. The rest seems completely fast-forwardable and that’ll be exactly what I do Monday morning.


Photo Gallery
Brian

Now, this is a pizza franchise that I would support!

I think Elias looks like a jacked up Damian Sandow but this will work too…

This is a picture of Bayley’s sister that suddenly went viral. Hmmm, I wonder why?

A cool drawing Jerry Lawler did. The King of Wrestling versus The King of Monsters!

Even Death itself is no match for the Nature Boy! Wooooooo!

Vince McMahon looks jealous in this pic…

That security guard though…

Rest in Peace Bobby Heenan. Now enjoy a reunion in Heaven!

Here is John Cena “burying” a John Cena cardboard cutout!


Video Gallery
Brian

Still a classic ESPN commercial featuring Stone Cold Steve Austin


All previous ‘This Week in Wrestling’ pieces can be read here.

One thought on “This Week in Wrestling 2017 week 38

  1. Based on how awesome she was throughout on NXT I would like to see Emma as champ to help this so awfully booked Raw women division. But she was obviously not build up for that in 2017 (even if they let her win as a shock, she would then lose it next Raw or so I guess), she should be finally booked better though :). Alexa seems to be the obvious pick considering how much they promote her and her merch since quite some time + let’s not forget the “reality” show total divas the WWE office loves.

    A pick I disagree on is Neville vs Enzo. Idk maybe Enzo has that much backstage heat, that they just won’t thrust him, but I think they see him really as somebody that could bring more mainstream attention to the 205 division and therefore may give him a bit of a reign in desperation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

